Muscle Milk California Student-Athlete of the Week

April 26, 2010


BERKELEY - With a surge in the final 200 meters, Steve Sodaro broke the four-minute barrier in the mile Saturday, becoming the sixth Golden Bear to achieve the record and highlighting Cal's performances on the final day of the Brutus Hamilton Invitational at Edwards Stadium, making the junior runner the Muscle Milk California Student-Athlete of the Week.

Running in the Don Bowden Mile, Sodaro finished second in 3:59.42 to Canadian Olivier Collin's 3:57.25 in posting the fifth-fastest mile in Golden Bear history. Sodaro becomes the fourth member of the current Golden Bear roster to have achieved a sub-four-minute time, joining senior Mark Matusak, junior Michael Coe and sophomore James Brewer. Sodaro also owns the Pac-10's top time in the 3000-meter steeplechase, having run 8:48.32 at the Big Meet in early April.

Muscle Milk California Student-Athletes of the Week

Date Winner Sport
April 26 Steve Sodaro Track and Field
April 19 Lindsey Ziegenhirt Softball
April 12 Deborah Maier Track and Field
April 5 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
March 29 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming and Diving
March 15 Glen Ishino Men's Gymnastics
March 8 Valerie Arioto Softball
March 1 Jamal Boykin Men's Basketball
February 22 DeNesha Stallworth Women's Basketball
February 15 Jerome Randle Men's Basketball
February 8 Emily Csikos Women's Water Polo
February 1 Michael Morrison Track and Field
January 25 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
January 19 Alexis Gray-Lawson Women's Basketball
January 11 Theo Robertson Men's Basketball
December 21 Nathan Adrian Men's Swimming and Diving
December 14 Hana Cutura Volleyball
December 7 Kristen Kathan Volleyball
November 30 Omondi Amoke Men's Basketball
November 23 Shane Vereen Football
November 16 Shane Vereen Football
November 9 Jana Juricova Women's Tennis
November 2 Lisa Kevorkian Women's Soccer
October 26 Hana Cutura Volleyball
October 19 Shane Vereen Football
October 12 Zach White Men's Water Polo
October 5 Andrew Wiedeman Men's Soccer
September 28 Carli Lloyd Volleyball
September 21 Jahvid Best Football
September 14 Andrew Wiedeman Men's Soccer
September 8 Lisa Kevorkian Women's Soccer
August 31 Hana Cutura Volleyball

2008-09 Winners

2007-08 Winners

2006-07 Winners

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder