No. 4 USC Tabbed No. 2 Seed In NCAA Central Regional

April 26, 2010

The No. 4 USC women's golf team, the NCAA title winner in 2003 and 2008, will begin its quest for the program's third national crown as a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Women's Golf Championships Central Regional, the NCAA announced on Monday (April 26).

NCAA East, Central and West Regionals, each made up of 24 teams, will be conducted May 6-8 to determine the championship final field. The top eight teams plus two individuals from each field will advance to the championship round, scheduled for May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall, hosted by North Carolina-Wilmington. A total of 369 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

The Women of Troy have five top 4 finishes in the past seven years at the NCAA Championships and nine in the top 7 since 1998, including a third place finish in 2009.

The Trojans won their NCAA Regional events in 2006 (Central), 2007 (Central) and 2008 (West) before taking third in 2009 (West). USC is looking to advance out of the NCAA Regional for the 13th year in a row in its 19th consecutive NCAA appearance (the last 13 under 14th-year Head Coach Andrea Gaston).

Below is information on each regional. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution. The Pac-10, arguably the top conference in the country, received eight bids, including No. 1 seeds UCLA (West) and Arizona State (Central), No. 2 seed USC (Central) and No. 3 seed Arizona (West).


The East regional will be played May 6-8 at Ironwood Country Club, Greenville, N.C., hosted by East Carolina University.

1. Duke
2. Auburn
3. Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Pepperdine
5. Vanderbilt
6. Tennessee
7. Florida
8. TCU
9. North Carolina
10. South Carolina
11. Tulane (Conference USA)
12. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
13. Washington
14. Texas Tech
15. Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Conference)
16. Campbell
17. East Tennessee State
18. Furman
19. Coastal Carolina
20. East Carolina
21. College of Charleston
22. Stetson (Atlantic Sun Conference)
23. Charleston Southern (Big South Conference)
24. Farleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)

1. Sofia Hagsund, North Carolina-Wilmington
2. Shana Young, South Florida
3. Nicole Sakamoto, James Madison


The Central regional will be played May 6-8 at the Otter Creek Golf Course, Columbus, Ind., hosted by Indiana.

1. Arizona State
2. USC
3. Purdue (Big Ten Conference)
4. Michigan State
5. Georgia
6. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
7. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
8. Florida State
9. Oklahoma State
10. Louisville (Big East Conference)
11. Oregon
12. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
13. Northwestern
14. Notre Dame
15. Mississippi
16. San Diego State
17. Baylor
18. Tulsa
19. North Carolina State
20. Indiana
21. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
22. Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
23. Detroit (Horizon League)
24. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Ashley Bauer, Michigan
2. Lansing Olivia, Drake
3. Julia Potter, Missouri


The West regional will be played May 6-8 at the Stanford Golf Course, Stanford,Calif., hosted by Stanford.

2. Alabama (Southeastern Conference)
3. Arizona (Pacific-10 Conference)
4. Ohio State
5. Virginia
6. Stanford
7. LSU
8. California
9. Texas A&M (Big 12 Conference)
10. Texas
11. UC Davis (Big West Conference)
12. Arkansas
13. UNLV
14. San Jose State (Western Athletic Conference)
15. San Francisco
16. Idaho
17. UC Irvine
18. Iowa State
19. Maryland
20. Colorado State
21. Oral Roberts (The Summit League)
22. Texas State (Southland Conference)
23. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
24. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)

1. Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
2. Teresa Puga, Minnesota
3. Ellen Mueller, Oklahoma

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder