UW Women Headed To North Carolina For NCAA Regionals

April 26, 2010

• East Regional Championship Central

SEATTLE -- The Husky women's golf team found out on Monday that they will be traveling cross-country to Greenville, N.C. as the No. 13 seed in the NCAA East Regional held from May 6-8.

Coach Mary Lou Mulflur and her team had hoped they would be sent to familiar ground in the West Region and Stanford Golf Course, but instead found out they are headed three time zones away to Ironwood Country Club where East Carolina will host the East Regional. Despite the long distance into unknown territory, 27th-year coach Mulflur and her team are excited for the opportunity to continue their season.

'We feel good. We get to keep playing and no matter where you go you have to play well. It's a little tougher travel-wise, but we can handle it,' said Mulflur, who has never played or coached a team at Ironwood Country Club. 'We'll be prepared to go back there, give it our best shot and see what happens.'

The Huskies will be making their 17th NCAA Regional appearance in the last 19 years. Washington has a best-ever finish of third at the 2006 West Regional.

The East Region is one of three sites that will help determine which 24 teams will advance to the NCAA Championships to be held May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall in Wilmington, N.C. and hosted by the University of North Carolina, Wilmington. Eight teams and two individuals will advance to the championships from each region.

Below are the teams participating and rankings in the East Region with conference automatic qualifiers indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1. Duke
2. Auburn
3. Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Pepperdine
5. Vanderbilt
6. Tennessee
7. Florida
8. TCU
9. North Carolina
10. South Carolina
11. Tulane (Conference USA)
12. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
13. Washington
14. Texas Tech
15. Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Association)
16. Campbell
17. East Tennessee State
18. Furman
19. Coastal Carolina
20. East Carolina
21. College of Charleston
22. Stetson (Atlantic Sun Conference)
23. Charleston Southern (Big South Conference)
24. Farleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)

1. Sofia Hagsund, North Carolina-Wilmington
2. Shana Yang, South Florida
3. Nicole Sakamoto, James Madison

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network