Eight Pac-10 Women's Golf Teams Earn NCAA Championship Regional Bids

April 27, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.- Eight of 10 Pac-10 teams, including ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON, UCLA, USC, STANFORD and WASHINGTON have earned berths in the NCAA Division I Women's Golf Championship Regionals at various sites, which will be conducted May 6-8, 2010. 

Defending NCAA Champion Arizona State, led by last week's Pac-10 Women's Golf Championships individual winner sophomore Carlota Ciganda, was selected as the No. 1 seed in the Central Regional, which will be played at the Otter Creek Golf Course in Columbus, Ind. The Sun Devils will be joined by Pac-10 rival USC, the No. 2 seed in that region. Oregon will also participate in Central Regional as the No. 11 seed in that field. 

Earning the Conference's second No. 1 seed, UCLA will lead the field at the West Regional. The Bruins will be joined by Arizona, who earned the Conference's automatic bid after winning the Pac-10 women's golf title last week, and will be the No. 3 seed in the region. The Bruins and Wildcats will play at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, California, and will be joined by sixth-seeded and host Cardinal and No. 8-seeded California. 

Washington will be the Conference's only representation in the East Regional. The No. 13 seed, the Huskies are headed to the Ironwood Country Club in Greenville, N.C.

A total of 369 participants have been selected for regional competition. Eight teams and two at-large individuals from each region will advance to the championships final, cutting the field down to 126 golfers. The finals will be held May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall in Wilmington, N.C., hosted by East Carolina University. 


Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder