Skip to main content

Tennis Travels to Big 12 Championships

Apr 27, 2010

Big 12 Championship Bracket

BOULDER - The University of Colorado women's tennis team begins its second season this week traveling to the Big 12 Conference Tennis Championships in Austin, Texas to play eighth seeded Kansas State, Thursday, April 28 at 9 a.m. (MDT).

The University of Texas is the host school and will be played at the Penick-Allison Tennis Center. Live scoring will be available on the conference web site at

The Buffaloes (10-12, 3-8 Big 12) are seeded No. 9 for the first time since the 2006 season. Over the last three years, CU earned a pair of four seeds and a fifth seed. The No. 8 seed for the Wildcats (7-12, 4-7) is their highest in the last five years when they earned a No. 7 spot back in 2006.

In their first meeting played earlier in the month, CU defeated the Wildcats, 4-3 back on April 9 at the South Campus Courts. After falling in the doubles point, the Buffs rallied to win four of six singles slots taking the top three singles lines and the No. 6 spot.

It's also the second straight spring CU and K-State will play one another in the first round. As the No. 5 seed last year, CU blanked No. 12 K-State, 4-0.

CU has won five straight over the Wildcats since 2007 and holds a 23-10 advantage in the series dating back to 1981.

Baylor was crowned its sixth consecutive regular season Big 12 title, earning the No. 1 seed entering the championship. The Bears, currently ranked second nationally by Campbell's/ITA team poll, posted an undefeated 11-0 record in league action. BU will look to capture its fifth straight postseason conference crown.

Host Texas received the No. 2 seed, while No. 3 Nebraska and No. 4 Texas A&M also earned first-round byes. Oklahoma is No. 5, followed by sixth-seeded Texas Tech and seventh-seeded Oklahoma State.

No. 10 seed is Iowa State, No. 11 is Missouri and No. 12 Kansas round out the bracket.

The Longhorn women hold the most postseason Big 12 titles overall with seven (1997-2002, 2005). Oklahoma State was crowned in 2003, while Texas A&M won in 2004.

In the 14-year history of the Big 12 Championships, the Buffs are 12-13.