Pac-10 Selects 2010 Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams

April 29, 2010


  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader |TV Schedule For Pac-10 Championships

    WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - In a vote by the league’s coaches, UCLA senior Yasmin Schnack has been named the Pac-10 Women’s Tennis Singles Player of the Year, while Schnack and junior teammate Andrea Remynse have been named the Doubles Team of the Year. STANFORD’s Mallory Burdette has been tabbed Freshman of the Year, while STANFORD’s Lele Forood earns the Coach of the Year distinction.

    Schnack becomes the fourth Bruin to garner Pac-10 Singles Player of the Year honors, joining Riza Zalameda (2008), Annica Cooper (1998) and Keri Phebus. At the 2010 Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif., the Sacramento, Calif., native, earned the automatic qualifier nod after beating Stanford’s Hilary Barte in straight sets, 6-4, 7-5. Currently, No. 6 in the ITA singles rankings, Schnack posted a 14-4 record in the fall and captured the title in the Flight-A-Draw at the Cal/Nike Invitational. Primarily playing at the No. 1 singles position, she recorded a dual-match record of 13-7, including a 7-5, 7-5 upset win over No. 3 Maria Sanchez of USC on April 16, 2010. 

    Schnack, and Remynse, a Battle Creek, Mich., native, became the third pair in UCLA history to win the Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year, joining Zalameda and Tracy Lin (2008) and Zalameda and Daniela Bercek (2005). The tandem earned the Pac-10’s automatic qualifier for the NCAA Tournament by deafeating Stanford’s Hilary Barte and Lindsay Burdette in straight sets, 6-1, 6-0, at last weekends Pac-10 Championships. By winning the singles and doubles Pac-10 titles, Schnack became the first Bruin to sweep the titles in the same season. Currently ranked No. 4  in doubles, the duo has a doubles dual-match record of 17-2, including seven-straight wins heading into the NCAA Tournament. In the fall, they captured the doubles titles at the Cal/Nike Invitational and the Wilson/ITA Southwest Regionals and compiled a doubles record of 11-3.

    Burdette, a Jackson, Ga., native became the third Cardinal, joining Hilary Barte (2008) and Amber Liu (2003) to earn Pac-10 Freshman of the Year. In her first season on The Farm, the rookie recorded a 19-3 dual-match singles record, including a stretch of 13-straight wins. In the current ITA singles rankings, Burdette is No. 33. In the fall, she won the SMC Fall Invitational by beating No. 79 Jenifer Widjaja of Pacific in straight sets, 6-4, 6-1. Teaming with fellow freshman Stacy Tan, the pair had a 19-3 dual-match doubles record. They captured the Freeman Memorial Doubles Title on Jan. 17, 2010, they upset No. 13 Sophie Grabinski and Sanaz Marand of then-No. 2 North Carolina, 8-6. The duo are currently ranked No. 52 in the doubles rankings.

    Stanford’s Forood earns Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time in her career and the first since 2007 after leading the Cardinal to a Pac-10 title with a perfect 8-0 record in Conference play and a 20-1 record overall. A San Fransico, Calif., native, who grew up in Mill Wallry, N.Y., Forood has solidified Stanford as one of the nation’s permier women’s tennis programs. In 10 seasons at the helm of the Cardinal, she has compiled a record of 235-16. In the current ITA rankings, Forood has four players singles, including Barte (No. 2), the highest singles player ranked in the Pac-10, M. Burdette (No. 33), Tan (No. 72) and L. Burdette (No. 85). In addition, the duo of Barte/L. Burdette are ranked No. 2 in doubles. 

    FIRST TEAM    
    NAME Year School
    Yasmin Schnack Sr. UCLA
    Hilary Barte Jr. Stanford
    Maria Sanchez Jr. USC
    Jana Juricova So. California
    Marina Cossou Jr. California
    Venise Chan Jr. Washington


    NAME Year School
    Mari Andersson Jr. California
    Elisabeth Fournier So. Washington State
    Denise Dy So. Washington
    Andrea Remynse Jr. UCLA
    Micaela Hein Jr. Arizona State
    Mallory Burdette Fr. Stanford


    NAME Year School
    Noelle Hickey Jr. UCLA
    Sarah Landsman So. Arizona
    Danielle Lao Fr. USC
    Natasha Marks So. Arizona
    Kelcy McKenna Jr. Arizona State
    Alison Ramos So. USC
    Luidmilla Vasilieva Fr. Washington State
  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    2:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder