Eric Mina Named 2010 First-Team All-Pac-10

May 3, 2010

WALNUT CREEK - Eric Mina has been named to the 2010 first-team All-Pac-10 squad in a vote of conference coaches the league announced Monday. Michael Weaver was an honorable mention selection. Both were honored on the all-conference team for the first time.

Mina became only the second player in the history of Cal men's golf to win the Pac-10 individual title in the 51-year history of the event when he came back from four shots off the lead on the final day of the 2010 Pac-10 Championship last Wednesday to capture medalist honors. Mina finished the 72-hole tournament at 16-under par with four consecutive rounds of 68 or better, including a career-best 65 in the opening round, to extend his current stretch of rounds of 68 or below to six.

The outing continued what has been an outstanding 2009-10 campaign for Mina, who is currently ranked No. 33 in the nation by Golfstat and No. 35 by Golf Week. Mina leads the Golden Bears with a 70.5 stroke average and is the only member of the team to have played in all 12 events and 36 rounds this season. In addition to his victory at the Pac-10's, he was also a winner of the Spartan Classic last September and leads the squad with five top-10 finishes. He has been the team's top golfer in seven of 12 events, including each of the last three. Mina's other honors in 2009-10 have included the Pac-10 Men's Golfer of the Month in September of 2009 and Golf World's Collegiate Player of the Week honors on May 3 for his performance at the Pac-10 Championship.

'Eric has been the foundation of what's been a good year for us,' said Cal head coach Steve Desimone. 'He's just played better and better as the season has evolved. It's no surprise what he's been doing of late.'

Weaver has the team's second-lowest stroke average and is also fresh off an impressive outing at the Pac-10 Championship, tying for sixth at 10-under par (68-71-66-69 - 274). He has three top-10 finishes this season, also tying for second at the Arizona Intercollegiate to open the spring schedule and tying for eighth at the Alister MacKenzie Invitational to complete the fall campaign.

Washington's Nick Taylor and Oregon's Eugene Wong were the Pac-10's Co-Golfers of the Year, while Oregon's Casey Martin captured Coach of the Year honors. USC's T.J. Vogel and Washington's Chris Williams shared the conference's Freshman of the Year award.

Visit for a complete listing of 2010 Pac-10 men's golf honors.

NCAA Regional play will take place at six sites May 20-22, with team selections announced on May 10. The 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship hosted by the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga is scheduled for June 1-6 at the Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder