Six Pac-10 Men's Tennis Teams Selected to NCAA Tournament

May 4, 2010


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first and second round sites for the 2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships and six Pac-10 teams, including ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, UCLA, USC and WASHINGTON will represent the Conference this season. Stanford, UCLA and USC were all selected as hosts for the opening rounds.

First and second round competition will be conducted May 14-16, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, hosted by the University of Georgia. The team championship will be held May 21-25. The finals will be televised live on ESPNU Tuesday, May 25 at 6 p.m. ET, then replayed on Wednesday, May 26 at 11 p.m. ET on ESPN 2. 

The Cardinal, who tied for the Conference Championship, host Quinnipiac in the opening round. Should the Cardinal advance, it will face the winner of the Pepperdine/Hawai’i match. 

The Bruins will face Sacramento State in the first round. UCLA would face either UC Irvine or Ohio State in the second round with a win over Sacramento State.

The defending national champion Trojans, begin the defense of their title by welcoming Marist for an opening round match in Los Angeles. Should they advance, next up for the Men of Troy, the Pac-10’s automatic qualifier, would be Fresno State or BYU. 

The Wildcats head to the Lone Star State where their open postseason action against Minnesota. Should Arizona advance, it would face the winner of the Texas UT-San Antonio match.

The Huskies will also travel to the state of Texas where their first opponent is Rice. The other opening round match includes host Baylor facing off against Oral Roberts. 

The Pac-10 has claimed 49 NCAA team championships, most recently USC winning in 2009, 40 individual NCAA champions, the last by UCLA’s Benjamin Kohlloeffel in 2006, and 56 doubles NCAA champions, the last was USC’s Robert Farah and Kaes Van’t Hof in 2008.



Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder