Six Pac-10 Women's Tennis Teams Selected to NCAA Tournament

May 4, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Subcommittee has selected the 64 teams and 16 first and second round sites for the 2010 NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships and six Pac-10 teams, including ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, UCLA, USC and WASHINGTON will represent the Conference this year. California, Stanford and UCLA were all selected as hosts for the opening rounds. 

First and second round competition will be conducted May 14-15, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, hosted by the University of Georgia. The team championship will be held May 20-25. The finals will be televised live on ESPNU Tuesday, May 25 at 2 p.m. ET, then replayed later that night at 10:30 p.m. ET. on ESPN 2

The Golden Bears host Southern in the opening round. A potential Pac-10 match-up may occur in the second round in Berkeley, Calif., since USC will also sent to the Berkeley Regional. The Trojans are set to face-off against Sacramento State. 

The Cardinal, the Pac-10’s automatic qualifier, will face Fairfield in the first round. The other match on The Farm will be between SMU and Pepperdine.

The Bruins welcome Army to Los Angeles. Should UCLA advance to the second round, the Bruins would face the winner of Arizona State and St. Mary’s (CA) in the second round. 

The Huskies travel across the country to Gainesville, Fla, where they will face Utah in the first round. The other opening round match includes host Florida going against South Carolina State.

Since 1982, the Pac-10 has claimed 18 NCAA team championships, with UCLA winning most recently in 2008, 15 NCAA individual champions, the last by California’s Susie Babos in 2006, and 16 doubles championships, the last coming last season with California’s Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova. 


Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder