UW Heading To Florida For NCAA Championships

May 4, 2010

NCAA Bracket PDF Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS - The Husky women's tennis team is once again among the field of 64 teams that will vie for the national title, as the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Subcommittee today announced the participating teams and the 16 first- and second-round sites for the 2010 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships.

First- and second-round competition will be conducted May 14-15, with the winner of each site advancing to the NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia, hosted by the University of Georgia. The final rounds of the team championship will be held May 20-25.

Washington is sure to be making the longest trip of any NCAA participant, as they will travel all the way to Gainesville, Florida for the regional hosted by the third-seeded Florida Gators. It will be a homecoming of sorts for head coach Jill Hultquist, as she starred at Florida earning four All-America honors before moving on to the WTA tour. Hultquist was inducted into the Florida Hall of Fame in 1999.

First up for Washington will be the Utah Utes on Friday, May 14, at Florida's Linder Stadium. That match is scheduled for 11 a.m. Eastern time and will be followed by Florida taking on South Carolina State, the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference champs. The winners of each match will then face off on Saturday, May 15, at 3 p.m. Eastern time.

The Huskies have already faced the Utes once this season, and earned a 6-1 win in the second match of UW's season at the Nordstrom Tennis Center. Utah (17-7) has played well of late, moving up to 40th in the most recent rankings. Washington heads to NCAAs ranked 29th with an 11-6 record, while Florida is the third-ranked team in the country and has posted a 24-2 record. The Huskies have three wins over current NCAA tourney teams including Sacramento State (4-3), South Carolina (4-3), and Utah (6-1).

'I think for the last several years we've been going to Regionals we've been going to Stanford, UCLA, USC and it's just good to get out of the Pac-10,' said Hultquist. 'It's exciting to play out of your region and it's great that I get to go back to the University of Florida and Gainesville where I started my career. So it's like going back to my second home and I'll see some friends I have not seen in years. That and playing Utah where we played them before but they had a player injured so it could be a tougher match for us, but I think overall we're really excited.'

This is the third-straight NCAA tournament bid for the Huskies under Hultquist. Washington is restoring its status as a perennial tournament team after two hard years in 2006 and 2007 when the team won just eight combined matches. But the Huskies cemented the turnaround last season by upsetting USC in the second round to return to the NCAA Round of 16 for the first time since 2004. Every player is back from last year's memorable tourney run.

This will be the 12th all-time NCAA appearance for the UW women. They are 12-11 all-time with nine-straight bids from 1997-2005 and NCAA quarterfinal appearances in 2001 and 2004.

The teams will play a single-elimination tournament at 16 first- and second-round sites (four teams at each site) and the finals site (16-team bracket) to determine the national champion. The matches shall be regulation dual matches with three (3) eight-game, pro-set doubles played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played best of three sets. Regular scoring will be used and a 12-point tiebreaker will be played at eight games all in doubles and at six games all in singles.

2010 NCAA Women's Tennis Championships
Gainesville, Florida - Linder Stadium

Friday, May 14
First Round
Utah vs. Washington at 11 a.m. ET
(3) Florida vs. South Carolina State at 2 p.m. ET

Saturday, May 15
Second Round
Friday winners at 3 p.m. ET

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder