Follett Added To Bowerman Award Watch List

May 5, 2010

The Bowerman Home Page

NEW ORLEANS - Husky senior Katie Follett was added to The Bowerman women's watch list The Bowerman Women's Watch Committee announced today. The award honors the top male and female athletes in collegiate track and field. Follett currently leads the NCAA in the 1,500-meters with a time of 4:10.66.

The Bowerman is in its second year of existence and is awarded each year to the top male and female collegiate athletes in the sport, similar to college football's Heisman Trophy. Last year's winners were U.S. Olympians Galen Rupp of Oregon and Jenny Barringer of Colorado.

Follett is now one of ten women in the NCAA on the main watch list, with another 23 athletes falling in the 'also receiving mention' category. The Fort Collins, Colo. native is the first Husky ever on the watch list.

Husky junior Scott Roth, the 2010 NCAA Indoor Champion in the pole vault, has been listed as also receiving mention throughout the outdoor season on the men's list.

Follett ran to the school-record in the 1,500-meters in a win at the Mt. SAC Relays on April 17. Her time is the best in Division I by over two seconds and is the fifth-best in world this year. She earned Pac-10 Athlete of the Week honors for the performance.

Earlier this season Follett posted her best NCAA finish as she placed second in the mile run at the NCAA Indoor Championships, earning the seventh All-America honor of her track and cross country career. She broke the UW mile record indoors as well, running 4:34.98, and was named West Region Track Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA).

Already in the 2010 outdoor season the group of ten women on the watch list has accounted for six world-leading marks, four American leaders and nine collegiate leaders. Three collegiate records have been set by the group.

The committee will release its next update on Wednesday, May 19, following the collegiate regular season. The three men and three women finalists will be named on July 13. Award winners will be announced at the USTFCCCA Convention, held December 13-16 in San Antonio, Texas.

THE BOWERMAN OFFICIAL WATCH LIST, 2010 WOMENNAME	YEAR	SCHOOL	EVENTSKatie Follett	SR	Washington	DistanceQueen Harrison	SR	Virginia Tech	HurdlesMariam Kevkhisvili	SR	Florida	ThrowsLisa Koll	SR	Iowa State	DistanceGabby Mayo	JR	Texas A&M	Sprints/HurdlesFrancena McCorory	JR	Hampton	SprintsBlessing Okagbare	SR	UTEP	Jumps/SprintsBrianne Theisen	JR	Oregon	Combined EventsKim Williams	JR	Florida State	JumpsPhoebe Wright	SR	Tennessee	Mid-Distance
Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network