Skip to main content

Milewski Selected as Alternate at NCAA Championships

May 6, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - University of Colorado senior Monica Milewski was named one of eight alternates to participate at the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Tennis Singles Championships becoming the only CU woman to be named to the tournament twice in her career.

The committee selected 64 singles players to be conducted May 26-31 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., following the conclusion of the team championship (May 20-25). The University of Georgia will serve as host.

"It's a good way to end my career that I'm very proud of," Milewski said, who will graduate Thursday afternoon with a degree in business accounting.

During her sophomore season, Milewski became the first CU women's student-athlete in 22 years (1985) to earn an invitation to the field of 64, and only the fourth woman in school history since the singles tournament began in 1982.

Milewski is the third alternate player and one of two women from the Big 12 Conference to be selected. Krista Damico (Texas) is sixth of the eight alternates named.

Being selected as an alternate means should any player get hurt or is unable to attend or play in the championships, the alternate list is used.

Milewski becomes only the second CU tennis athlete to make multiple trips to the NCAA singles field (Marc Bauer 1995, 1996).

In the main singles draw, the Big 12 will be represented by Lenka Broosova (Baylor), who was one of 19 automatic qualifiers and will be seeded fifth in the 64 women's field.  A quartet of At-large selections (45 overall) will also represent the Big 12: Aeriel Ellis (Texas), Elz+¬ Potgieter (Texas A&M), Nina Secerbegovic (Baylor), Nazari Urbina (Texas A&M).

Milewski went 2-2 against the three women that made the main draw. She lost to Broosova twice in straight sets (once in the regular season, the other at the Big 12 tennis Championships), however defeated Ellis (6-1, 6-4), the then-No. 23 ranked player in the nation, and Potgieter, No. 59 ranked player (6-3, 7-5). Both wins over the pair of ranked opponents earned Milewski the Big 12 Conference Women's Player of the Week (April 19-25).

Nationally ranked at No. 60 in the latest Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) top-125 poll, Milewski has been ranked as high as No. 59 this spring. The native of Park Ridge, Ill. ranks second all-time on Colorado's all-time singles wins list with 91 victories and performed her best season-to-date recording a 26-8 singles mark, 16 of those wins coming in spring play.

Milewski won 15 of those matches at the No. 1 position, in addition achieving a 9-2 mark against Big 12 competition. Since Feb. 7, she has won 14 of 17 matches. Six of her eight spring losses for the year came against ranked players (five made the singles tournament, the other was suspended during the spring and unable to compete).

Last month, Milewski was named CU's Sports Performers of the Year (CUSPY's) Female Career Athletic Achievement Award recipient.

"I'm not wishing any ill-will on the athletes that are going to compete, but it's a great way for Monica to end her career at CU, and a fantastic opportunity to be able to compete at the same location as she did in your sophomore year," head coach Nicole Kenneally said.

All the NCAA singles matches shall be the best of three sets. Regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games all will be used for all matches.

Automatic qualification into the Division I singles championships will be awarded to any conference with one or more eligible singles players ranked in the ITA Top 125 for eligible/entered singles players. For conferences with more than one singles player within the ITA Top 125 eligible/entered singles players, the subcommittee will apply the NCAA selection criteria to determine which student-athlete is the automatic qualifier from those conferences. All singles players must have a record of a minimum of 13 completed singles matches in order to be selected as an automatic qualifier or an at-large selection.

Past CU Singles NCAA Participants:

2007 - Monica Milewski: lost in 1st Round to Martina Banikova, Mississippi State, 3-6, 6-1, 7-5, in Athens, Ga.

1985 - Kathleen Heckman: lost in 1st round to Southern California's Mary Norwood, 5-7, 6-4, 6-4 in Oklahoma City.

1982 - Kathleen Cummings: as No. 8 seed reached semifinals at inaugural NCAA women's tournament in Salt Lake City. (1st round: defeated Karen Heubner, UCLA 7-6, 7-6; 2nd round: defeated Jamie Golder, Miami, Fla. 6-4, 4-6, 6-4; 3rd round: defeated Felicia Raschiatore, Trinity (Texas) 6-1, 6-1; Quarterfinals: beat No. 1 seed Vicki Nelson, Rollins (Fla.) 6-4, 6-7, 6-2; semifinal: lost to eventual champion Alycia Moulton, Stanford 6-1, 6-2.

1982 - Shannon Reide: lost in 1st Round to Helena Mansett, UCLA, 6-4, 6-2.