M Golf Earns NCAA Regional Berth

May 10, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. - The University of Arizona men's golf team was selected to participate in the 2010 NCAA Regionals, the NCAA announced Monday.

Arizona was seeded ninth in a field of 13 teams and 10 individuals for the regional at Carlton Oaks, Golf Course in San Diego, Calif., which takes place May 20-22. Included in the field are (seed): Oregon (1), UNLV (2), Augusta State (3), Tennessee (4), San Diego State (5), California (6), Chattanooga (7), Central Florida (8), Arizona (9), California-Irvine (10), Missouri (11), New Mexico State (12) and Oral Roberts (13). The 10 individuals are Tom Whitney, Air Force; Scott Travers, Santa Clara; Nate Barbee, Kansas; Nick Delio, Cal State Northridge; Lloyd du Preez, Arkansas State; Zack Fischer, Texas-Arlington; Pierre-Alexis Rolland, Lamar; Justin Bardgett, Colorado; Jared Becher, Nevada; Paul Apyan, Southern Mississippi.

It marks Arizona's 23rd NCAA postseason appearance in the last 24 years, and the program's 21st appearance in the NCAA Regional since the NCAA adopted the regional format in 1989.

Currently ranked 37th in the current (May 9) Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, Arizona has four top-five finishes in eight events this spring, including a win at the Braveheart Classic on March 1.

The top five teams and the low individual from each of six NCAA Regionals qualify for the 2010 NCAA Men's Golf Championships, which is scheduled for June 1-6 at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder