Men's Golf Earns Regionals Berth at Washington

May 10, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The Oregon State men's golf team has earned a berth to the NCAA Men's Golf Regional Championships for the fourth straight season. The Beavers were selected as the fourth seed at the Bremerton Regional, held at the Gold Mountain Golf Club hosted by the University of Washington, May 20-22.

There are six regionals taking place throughout the country. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals will compete at three of the regional sites while at the other three there will be 14 teams and five individuals in action. The top five teams from each of the six regionals and the low individual not a member of those teams will advance to the NCAA Championship, which will be held at The Honors Course near Chattanooga, Tenn., June 1-6, hosted by the University of Tennessee.

'It's nice to stay out west and playing on a course that we're familiar with,' head coach Brian Watts said. 'It was a pleasant surprise to find out that we would be staying closer to home considering we could have gone anywhere. Not having to make any quick adjustments to a different grass or a new course is good for us.'

The Beavers are coming off a second straight fifth place finish at the Pac-10 Championships last week. Their fourth seed at the regional is testament to the outstanding season OSU has had, a season that includes one tournament win in the fall at the Giustina Memorial Classic in September and tying for first at the prestigious Bank of Tennessee Intercollegiate in October. The Beavers will be joined at Gold Mountain by two other Pac-10 teams - Washington and USC.

'We are pretty familiar with Gold Mountain and won one of Washington's tournaments there a couple years ago,' Watts said. 'The course will play to our advantage. It plays long and soft and I think there are some areas on the course where our familiarity will be an advantage.'

Oregon State finished 10th at the NCAA West Regional in 2009 and haven't qualified to the NCAA Championship since 2001. The Beavers tied for ninth in 2007 and lost in a playoff against East Tennessee State and Wake Forest, for the right to advance to the Championship.

The Beavers are a senior laden team led by Diego Velasquez, who is enjoying one of the best individual seasons in OSU history, with a 70.0 scoring average in 2009-10. He has finished 10 out of 11 tournaments below par and has seven top 10 finishes this season.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate at Gold Mountain Golf Club. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by conferences in parentheses.

Gold Mountain Golf Club, Bremerton, Wash.

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Washington (Pac-10 Conference)
2. USC
3. Illinois (Big Ten Conference)
4. Oregon State
5. San Diego
6. Colorado State (Mountain West Conference)
7. Middle Tennessee
8. SMU
9. New Mexico
10. Fresno State
11. Eastern Michigan
12. VCU
13. Loyola (Md.) (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)

1. Espen Kofstad, Denver
2. Austin Graham, UC Davis
3. Brandon Crick, Nebraska
4. Gabe Maier, Wyoming
5. Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
6. Kyle Peterman, Western Illinois
7. Ben Blundell, Oklahoma
8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9. Nathan Sutherland, Miami (Ohio)
10. Carlos Ortiz, North Texas

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.You can make an 'everyday champion.' Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder