Taylor Named One of Three Ben Hogan Award Finalists

May 10, 2010

HERSHEY, Pa. -- Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the GCAA, has announced Bud Cauley of Alabama, Georgia's Russell Henley and Nick Taylor of Washington as finalists for the 2010 Ben Hogan Award. The most prestigious award in men's college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

A native of Abbotsford, B.C., Taylor was named Pac-10 Co-Golfer of the Year for the second straight season. He is the only Husky to ever win the conference's nod as the top player and is just the fifth golfer in the league's history to win multiple times.

Taylor had another stellar season and led the Huskies in multiple categories. He was a top-10 finisher in 9 of 11 events and had a team-best scoring average of 70.73. He led the squad with 18 rounds played under par and shot 10 rounds in the 60's to equal teammate Richard Lee's total.

After finishing tied for ninth at last year's NCAA Championships, he was low amateur at the U.S. Open where he tied for 36th. Taylor won the Sahalee Players Championship and earned medalist honors at the U.S Amateur Public Links before advancing to the championship match. He also finished in the top 10 at the Canadian Amateur (T-3rd) and Copa de las Americas (8th) before tying for 34th at the Nationwide Children's Hospital Invitational.

The finalists were announced on Golfweek TV. To view the video you can follow this link: http://www.golfweek.com/videos/2010/may/10/449/

The three finalists will attend the Hogan Award Banquet at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 24. The event will be streamed live on Golfweek.com starting at 5:00 p.m. PT.

Although no Husky golfer has ever won the golf-equivalent of the Heisman Trophy, two players from the state of Washington have won it in the past: Kyle Stanley (Clemson, 2009) and Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005). The only Pac-10 player to ever win the award was Arizona's Ricky Barnes in 2003.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network