Washington Earns No. 1 Seed For NCAA Regionals

May 10, 2010

• Gold Mountain Regional Central

INDIANAPOLIS - The Washington Husky men's golf team was selected as one of six top seeds for the NCAA Golf Regionals and will play at Gold Mountain Golf Course in Bremerton, Wash. on May 20-22. Washington is joined by UCLA, Stanford and Oregon as one of four Pac-10 schools that earned a top seed in the six regionals.

Five teams from the Gold Mountain regional and the top individual competitor not from one of those five teams will advance to the NCAA Championships at the Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn., from June 1-6. Joining the Pac-10 Champion Huskies in the region are (seeds in parentheses) USC (2), Illinois (3), Oregon State (4), San Diego (5), Colorado State (6), Middle Tennessee State (7), SMU (8), New Mexico (9), Fresno State (10), Eastern Michigan (11), VCU (12) and Loyola of Maryland (13).

In addition, 10 individuals were assigned to play at Gold Mountain, a par-72 7,104-yard course, including Washington State's Kevin Tucker.

The Huskies earned the Pac-10 Conference's automatic bid by winning the conference championship. They are making their eighth NCAA appearance in nine seasons under the guidance of head coach Matt Thurmond. Washington has managed to advance to the NCAA Championships in all eight of those regional appearances, recording a team-best third-place finish in 2005.

Last season, the Huskies finished runner-up in the Central Regional and were third after stoke play of the NCAA Championship. They ended up losing in the quarterfinals of match play to Arkansas.

Here is the entire field scheduled to play at the Gold Mountain Regional, listed by seed and conference automatic qualifiers appearing in parentheses:

1. Washington (Pac-10)
2. USC
3. Illinois (Big 10)
4. Oregon State
5. San Diego
6. Colorado State (Mountain West)
7. Middle Tennessee State
8. SMU
9. New Mexico
10. Fresno State
11. Eastern Michigan
12. Virginia Commonwealth
13. Loyola-Maryland (Metro Atlantic)

1. Epsen Kostad, Denver
2. Austin Graham, UC-Davis
3. Brandon Crick, Nebraska
4. Gabe Maier, Wyoming
5. Rodolfo Cazaubon, North Texas
6. Kyle Peterman, Western Illinois
7. Ben Blundell, Oklahoma
8. Kevin Tucker, Washington State
9. Nathan Sutherland, Miami (Ohio)
10. Carlos Ortiz, North Texas

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network