Fowler Named Finalist for POY

May 12, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- Arizona pitcher Kenzie Fowler has been named a finalist for the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year, the organization announced today.

The The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced the Top 10 Finalists and the winner will be announced on June 1 at the opening of the NCAA 2010 Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla. The award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

Past winners of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year honor include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, Texas' Cat Osterman, who is a three time winner, Tennessee's Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher and Washington's Danielle Lawrie.

The Top 10 Finalists represent 10 schools and five different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list is comprised of five seniors, one junior, one sophomore and three freshman. The final three finalists will be announced May 26 while the winner of the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the World Series action at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium.

2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Top 10 Finalists

Name (School) - Year - Position - Hometown

Valerie Arioto (California) - Junior - Utility - Pleasanton, Calif.

Chelsea Bramlett (Mississippi State) - Senior - Catcher/Infield - Cordova, Tenn.

Kayla Braud (Alabama) -Freshman - Infielder - Eugene, Ore.

Francesca Enea (Florida) - Senior - Outfield - Woodland Hills, Calif.

Kenzie Fowler (Arizona) - Freshman - Pitcher - Tucson, Ariz.

Megan Langenfeld (UCLA) - Senior - Pitcher/First Base - Bakersfield, Calif.

Danielle Lawrie (Washington) - Senior - Pitcher - Langley, B.C.

Blaire Luna (Texas) - Freshman - Pitcher - Austin, Texas

Jen Mineau (Fordham) - Sophomore - Pitcher - Schaghticoke, N.Y.

Jen Yee (Georgia Tech) - Senior - Second Base - North Delta, B.C.

The Top 10 finalists were selected by a panel, which includes Division I coaches and other individuals involved at the highest levels of the game, from the list of Top 25 Finalists released in April. A Top 50 Watch List was released in January, although players did not have to be included on the Watch List to become a finalist.

Arizona hosts UCLA for a three-game set beginning tomorrow at 7 p.m.

Courtesy of USA Softball

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network