Lawrie Named Top 10 Finalists For Collegiate Player Of The Year

May 12, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America announced today the Top 10 Finalists for the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year and reigning winner Danielle Lawrie from Washington was named to the list.

Lawrie, who is looking to become just the second player ever to win the award more than once, was one of four Pac-10 players on the list of finalists. She joins Cal's Valerie Arioto, Arizona's Kenzie Fowler and UCLA's Megan Langenfeld. She is also one of two Canadian's on the list of finalists as Lawrie's Canadian National Team teammate Jen Yee from Georgia Tech also made the list.

Two other Huskies were named to earlier lists, with sophomore Kimi Pohlman being named to the initial 50-player watch list before the season started and junior Jenn Salling being added to the list when it was paired down to 25.

Lawrie is having perhaps an even better season this year than when she won the sport's highest honor last year. She is 33-2 with a 0.92 ERA and 392 strikeouts while walking just 31 in 235.1 innings. Her 19 shutouts lead the nation and are two shy of tying her own UW single-season record. She also ranks fourth in the NCAA in strikeouts, ERA and wins and is fifth in walks per seven innings and strikeouts per seven innings.

The senior has four no-hitters, including three perfect games this year, the latter of which is tied for a Pac-10 record. She has also added 22 double-digit strikeout performances, including 13 in 17 Pac-10 starts. Against conference hitters, which are some of the best in the country, Lawrie has seemingly gotten stronger, going 15-2 with a 0.86 in conference play, with 197 strikeouts and just 23 walks in 113.1 innings.

Just this week, Lawrie was named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week for the record-breaking seventh time and she also swept both national weekly honors, earning the USA Softball Player of the Week for a record third time this year and adding the NFCA National Player of the Week.

On top of her gaudy pitching numbers, the Langley, B.C., native is also having a career-year at the plate, blasting 12 home runs and driving in 47 RBI, both of which are career bests. She leads the team in home runs and is second in RBI and total bases and third in slugging percentage and walks.

The winner will be announced on June 1 at the opening of the NCAA 2010 Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Okla. The award, which is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women's collegiate softball, is designed to recognize outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country.

The Top 10 finalists were selected by a panel, which includes Division I coaches and other individuals involved at the highest levels of the game, from the list of Top 25 Finalists released in April. A Top 50 Watch List was released in January, although players did not have to be included on the Watch List to become a finalist.

Past winners of the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year honor include UCLA's Stacey Nuveman, Florida State's Jessica Van der Linden, Texas' Cat Osterman - who is a three time winner - Tennessee's Monica Abbott, Virginia Tech's Angela Tincher and Lawrie.

The Top 10 Finalists represent 10 schools and five different NCAA Division I Conferences. The list is comprised of five seniors, one junior, one sophomore and three freshmen. The final three finalists will be announced May 26 while the winner of the 2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Award will be announced prior to the start of the World Series action at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium.

2010 USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year Top 10 Finalists

Name (School) - Year - Position - Hometown
Valerie Arioto (California) - Junior - Utility - Pleasanton, Calif.
Chelsea Bramlett (Mississippi State) - Senior - Catcher/Infield - Cordova, Tenn.
Kayla Braud (Alabama) -Freshman - Infielder - Eugene, Ore.
Francesca Enea (Florida) - Senior - Outfield - Woodland Hills, Calif.
Kenzie Fowler (Arizona) - Freshman - Pitcher - Tucson, Ariz.
Megan Langenfeld (UCLA) - Senior - Pitcher/First Base - Bakersfield, Calif.
Danielle Lawrie (Washington) - Senior - Pitcher - Langley, B.C.
Blaire Luna (Texas) - Freshman - Pitcher - Austin, Texas
Jen Mineau (Fordham) - Sophomore - Pitcher - Schaghticoke, N.Y.
Jen Yee (Georgia Tech) - Senior - Second Base - North Delta, B.C

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder