Six Pac-10 Men's Tennis Teams Head To NCAA Tournament

May 12, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader



    WHAT: The 2010 NCAA Men’s Tennis Championships First and Second Rounds

    WHEN: May 14-15, 2010 or May 15-16, 2010

    WHERE: Stanford, UCLA and USC will host the opening rounds, while Arizona, California and Washington will travel for their opening rounds of the tournament. 

    MATCHUPS (Times local to site)
    Texas - Host, Austin, Texas, May 14, 10 a.m.
    Minnesota (13-10) vs. ARIZONA (13-10) 

    USC - Host, Los Angeles, Calif., May 14, 10 a.m.
    Marist (14-5) vs. USC (19-3) 

    Stanford - Host, Stanford, Calif., May 15, 12 p.m.
    Quinnipiac (16-10) vs. STANFORD (18-5) 

    UCLA - Host, Los Angeles, Calif., May 15
    Sacramento State (17-11) vs. UCLA (14-6), 12 p.m.
    CALIFORNIA (12-7) vs. UC Irvine (17-11), 9 a.m.

    Baylor - Host, Waco, Texas, May 15, 7 a.m.
    Rice (14-10) vs. WASHINGTON (17-5) 

    PAC-10 MEN IN THE RANKINGS (ITA Rankings):

    Fourteen Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men’s singles rankings (as of May 3). Five Conference teams are represented by ranked individuals, with USC sophomore Steve Johnson topping the list at No. 2 and joined in the Top-10 by teammate senior Robert Farah at No. 9.

    CALIFORNIA: No. 18 Pedro Zerbini, Jr. 
    STANFORD: No. 13 Bradley Klahn, So.;  No. 62 Alex Clayton, Jr.; No. 84 Ryan Thacher, So.
    UCLA: No. 51 Haythem Abid, Sr.; No. 58 Matt Brooklyn, Sr.; No. 71 Nick Meister, Jr.; No. 117 Amit Inbar, Jr.
    USC: No. 2 Steve Johnson, So.; No. 9 Robert Farah, Sr.; No. 83 Daniel Nguyen, So.; No. 89 Jaak Poldma, Jr.; No. 121 Peter Lucassen, Jr.
    WASHINGTON: No. 87 Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, Jr.

    In doubles, Pac-10 men’s teams occupy 11 spots among the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with a ranked pair representing five different schools. USC’s tandem of Robert Farah and Steve Johnson is the highest-ranked duo at No. 2.

    ARIZONA: No. 80 Pat Metham, Sr./Borja Malo, Jr.
    CALIFORNIA: No. 30 Jonathan Dahan, Jr./Pedro Zerbini, Jr.; No. 67 Christoffer Konigsfeldt, Fr./Nick Andrews, So.
    STANFORD: No. 4 Bradley Klahn, So./Ryan Thacher, So.; No. 51 Richard Wire, Sr./Alex Clayton, Jr.
    UCLA: No. 16 Nick Meister, Jr./Amit Inbar, Jr.; No. 53 Haythem Abid, Sr./Nick Meister, Jr.
    USC: No. 2 Robert Farah, Sr./Steve Johnson, So.; No. 60 Jason McNaughton, Sr./Daniel Nguyen, So.; No. 73 Steve Johnson, So./Daniel Nguyen, So. 
    WASHINGTON: No. 75 Jeeven Nedunchezhiyan, So./Kyle McMorrow, Fr.

    HISTORY: Pac-10 men’s teams have faired well in the NCAA Tournament, winning 50 team championships, with the most recent coming in 2009 when USC won the title. Stanford and USC are tied for the Conference lead with 17 championships apiece, while UCLA has been crowned champion 16 times in school history. 

    Individually, 40 singles players from Pac-10 institutions have won the Singles NCAA Championship. UCLA’s Benjamin Kohlloeffel was the last Pac-10 men’s tennis player to win the title, do so in 2006. Stanford and USC have had the most individual champions with 13, followed closely by UCLA which dons 10 champions. California has two champions, while Arizona State and Washington each have one NCAA Champion. 

    Dating back to 1922, the Pac-10 has had 54 doubles teams capture the NCAA Doubles title, most recently was the duo of Robert Farah and Kaes Van’t Hof of USC in 2008. USC has the most doubles champions with 21, while Stanford has 13 duos who have won the doubles title. UCLA has 11, followed by California with eight. James Brink and Fred Fisher won the only doubles title for Washington in 1949.

    Complete history can be found in the Pac-10 record books located on page four of this release. 

    UP NEXT: The winner of each site will advance to the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., hosted by the University of Georgia. The team championship will be held May 21-25, with the final on Tuesday, May 25, being televised live on ESPNU at 6 p.m. ET. A tape delay will run Wednesday, May 26, on ESPN2 at 11 p.m. ET.