Six Pac-10 Women's Tennis Teams Head To NCAA Tournament

May 13, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


    WHAT: The 2010 NCAA Women’s Tennis Championships First and Second Rounds

    WHEN: May 14-15, 2010

    WHERE: California, Stanford and UCLA will host the opening rounds, while Arizona State, USC and Washington will travel for their opening rounds of the tournament. 

    MATCHUPS (Local to site):
    Florida - Host, Gainesville, Fla., May 14 11 a.m.
    Utah (17-7) vs. WASHINGTON (11-6)

    California - Host, Berkeley, Calif., May 14 
    USC (13-9) vs. Sacramento State (19-6), 10 a.m.
    Southern (12-5) vs. CALIFORNIA (18-5), 1 p.m.

    UCLA - Host, Los Angeles, Calif., May 14
    St. Mary's (17-6) vs. ARIZONA STATE (13-5), 10 a.m.
    Army (20-9) vs. UCLA (19-3), 1 p.m.


    The Pac-10 women occupy 32 spots on the ITA’s Top-125 singles rankings list through May 3.  Of the Top-30 players in the nation, eight hail from the Pac-10.  All nine Conference teams are represented by ranked individuals, with sophomore Jana Juricova of CALIFORNIA receiving the highest ranking at No. 2. 

    ARIZONA: No. 94 Natasha Marks, So.
    ARIZONA STATE: No. 50 Micaela Hein, Jr.; No. 74 Kelcy McKenna, Jr.; No. 116 Hannah James, Fr.
    CALIFORNIA: No. 2 Jana Juricova, So.; No. 18 Marina Cossou, Jr.; No. 35 Mari Andersson, Jr.
    STANFORD: No. 4 Hilary Barte, Jr.; No. 33 Mallory Burdette, Jr.; No. 68 Stacy Tan, Fr.; No. 83 Lindsay Burdette, Sr.
    OREGON: No. 120 Pavlina Smatova, 
    UCLA: No. 6 Yasmin Schnack, Sr.; No. 26 Andrea Remynse, Jr.; No. 46 Noelle Hickey, Jr.
    USC: No. 3 Maria Sanchez, Jr.; No. 31 Alison Ramos, So.; No. 37 Danielle Lao, Fr.; No. 122 Valeria Pulido, Fr.
    WASHINGTON:  No. 10 Denise Dy, So.; No. 15 Venise Chan, Jr. 
    WASHINGTON STATE: No. 59 Elisabeth Fournier, So.; No. 61 Liudmila Vasilieva, Fr.,

    In doubles, Pac-10 women’s teams hold 10 spots in the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with six schools represented.  The STANFORD tandem of Lindsay Burdette and Hilary Barte are the highest-ranked doubles team in the Conference, landing at No. 2.

    ARIONA STATE: No. 90 Kelcy McKenna, Jr./Hannah James, Fr.
    CALIFORNIA: No. 9 Mari Andersson, Jr./Jana Juricova, So.; No. 89 Marina Cossou Jr./Kasia Siwosz Sr.
    STANFORD: No. 2 Lindsay Burdette, Sr./Hilary Barte, Jr.; No. 56 Mallory Burdette, Jr./Stacy Tan Fr.
    UCLA: No. 4 Andrea Remynse, Jr./Yasmin Schnack, Sr.
    USC:  No. 61 Maria Sanchez, Jr./Valeria Pulido, Fr.; No. 64 Danielle Lao, Fr./Maria Sanchez, Jr.; No. 81  Lyndsay Kinstler Jr./Maria Sanchez, Jr.;
    WASHINGTON: No. 21 Denise Dy, So./Joyce Ardies, Sr.

    HISTORY: Since 1982, Pac-10 institutions have captured 18 NCAA team championships. Leading the way is Stanford who has won 18 championships. USC won the championship in 1983 and 1985, while UCLA won the most recent title in 2008. For the Bruins, it marked their first women’s tennis title.

    Individually, 15 singles players have won the Singles NCAA Championship. California’s Susie Babos was the last Pac-10 women’s tennis player to win, winning it in 2006. Stanford has had the most individual champions from the Pac-10, most recently with Amber Liu who won in 2003 and 2004. The Golden Bears, Bruins and Trojans each have one singles champion.

    In all, 16 Pac-10 doubles teams have been crowned the NCAA Doubles Champions, most recently California’s pair of Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova in 2009. UCLA has the most doubles champions with six, while the Golden Bears have earned five, followed by Stanford with four. Alix Creek and Michelle Oldham won the only doubles title for Arizona in 1993. 

    Complete Pac-10 history in the NCAA Tournament can be found in the record books, located on pages three and four of this release. 

    UP NEXT: The winner of each site will advance to the NCAA Division I Women’s Tennis Championships at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., hosted by the University of Georgia. The team championship will be held May 21-25, with the final on Tuesday, May 25, being televised live on ESPNU at 2 p.m. ET. A tape delay will run later that night at 10:30 p.m. on ESPN2.



  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    6:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
      TODAY | 9:00pm PT

      Airing on:

      • Pac-12 Oregon
      • Pac-12 Network
      • Pac-12 Arizona
      • Pac-12 Bay Area
      • Pac-12 Los Angeles
      • Pac-12 Washington
      • Pac-12 Mountain
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder