Jamia Reid, Valerie Arioto Named to Futures National Team

May 14, 2010

BERKELEY - California softball stars junior utility Valerie Arioto and sophomore outfield Jamia Reid have been placed on the 2010 USA Softball Women's Futures National Team. Arioto and Reid join 16 other athletes on the team, which includes both USA Softball rookies and those with national team experience and consists of athletes who currently play or have played at 13 schools in six Division I conferences. The Futures Team derives its name from the talent that could make up the women's senior national team in years to come.

The Futures Team will kick off the season with exhibition games against the senior national team in Canton and Ashland, Ohio from June 16-17. They will also compete against the national teams of Canada, Japan and the USA at the 2010 World Cup of Softball. That tournament will be held July 22-26, at the ASA Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City.

Reid paces the Bears, hitting .380 and starting 50 of Cal's 56 games. She has stolen a Pac-10 Conference leading 44 bases, a category in which she holds the record at Cal. Arioto right behind her, batting .363, but is slugging an incredible team-high .806 and a .591 on-base percentage thanks to her 71 walks. In the circle, Arioto boasts a 1.36 ERA, allowing her opposing hitters to bat just .171.

Kate Drohan, who is the head coach at head coach Northwestern, is stepping in to serve as the head coach, making her first time as a coach in the USA Softball program. Mike Larabee, Arkansas' head coach, and Jamie Pinkerton, assistant coach at Iowa State, will serve as assistants for the Futures Team.

Members of the Futures Team will also fill spots on the USA team competing this summer in Canada and Japan. Arioto was recently named to the two teams that will be traveling to those games.

2010 USA Softball Women's Futures National Team:
Valerie Arioto (Pleasanton, Calif./California junior)
Katelyn Boyd (Phoenix, Ariz./Arizona State sophomore)
Raven Chavanne (Thousand Oaks, Calif./Tennessee freshman)
Kenzie Fowler (Tucson, Ariz./Arizona freshman)
Jessica Iwata (Lihu'e, Hawaii/Hawaii freshman)
Molly Johnson (Tucson, Ariz./Kentucky senior)
Megan Langenfeld (Bakersfield, Calif./UCLA senior)
Brittany Lastrapes (Laguna Niguel, Calif./Arizona junior)
Jenae Leles (Fair Oaks, Calif./Arizona 2009*)
Blaire Luna (Austin, Texas/Texas freshman)
Meagan May (Spring, Texas/Texas A&M freshman)
Stacey Nelson (Los Alamitos, Calif./Florida 2009*)
Jamia Reid (Buena Park, Calif./California sophomore)
Lauren Schutzler (Monterey, Calif./Arizona junior)
Jordan Taylor (Valencia, Calif./Michigan junior)
Angela Tincher (Eagle Rock, Va./Virginia Tech 2008*)
Niki Williams (Mission Viejo, Calif./Washington sophomore)
Shawna Wright (Lancaster, Calif./Washington freshman)

* Last year of college eligibility

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network