Mens' 4x100m Relay Edges Rival USC For Pac-10 Crown

May 16, 2010


For the second straight year, the men's 4x100m relay edged out rival USC to win the Pac-10 crown as the Bruins wrapped up competition in Berkeley at the conference meet. The foursome of Jamal Alston, Karlton Rolle, Maxwell Dyce and Brandon Smith ran a season-best 39.66. That time ranks 17th in the NCAA this season. Today's win marked the eighth time the Bruins have won the conference title in the event.

The Bruins tied for fourth as a team, while Oregon won the team title.

Smith also placed fourth in the 100m (10.68), which is his highest individual finish at the conference meet during his four year career.

Dyce and Rolle picked up nine points for the men in the 200m as Dyce was fourth (21.41) and Rolle finished fifth (21.68).

In the 800m, Cory Primm led the way, finishing fourth with a time of 1:48.99, while Scott Crawford was seventh with a mark of 1:49.75. Marlon Patterson finished eighth in the 1500m (3:45.21), picking up a point for the team competition.

David Klarer finished sixth in the 400m hurdles final, running 52.66.

The 4x400m relay team of Trent Perez, Crawford, Primm and Jonathan Simmons finished sixth in a time of 3:16.20.

In field event action, Bo Taylor was seventh in the discus (174-10), while Thomas Nagengast placed eighth (172-0). Jonathan Clark finished third in the triple jump with a mark of 50-9.25, while Steven Taylor was fifth with a lifetime-best jump of 49-8.50.

100m - 4. Brandon Smith (10.68)

200m -4. Maxwell Dyce (21.41); 5. Karlton Rolle (21.68)

400m - no one in the final

800m - 4. Cory Primm (1:48.99); 7. Scott Crawford (1:49.75)

1500m - 8. Marlon Patterson (3:45.21)

5000m - 10. Marco Anzures (14:07.69); 21. Alex Crabill (14:36.29); Kent Morikawa (DNF)

110m Hurdles - no entries

400m Hurdles - 6. David Klarer (52.66)

4x100m Relay - 1. Alston, Rolle, Dyce, Smith (39.66)

4x400m Relay - 6. Perez, Crawford, Primm, Simmons (3:16.20)

High Jump - 11T. Nelson Rosario (6-8.25/2.04m)

Triple Jump - 3. Jonathan Clark (50-9.25/15.47); 5. Steven Taylor (49-8.50/15.15m)

Discus - 7. Bo Taylor (174-10/53.29m); 8. Thomas Nagengast (172-2/52.47m)

Final Men's Team Scores
1. Oregon (168.50)
2. USC (156)
3. Stanford (92)
4. Arizona State (85)
4. UCLA (85)
6. Washington (68)
7. Washington State (67)
8. California (59)
9. Arizona (26)
10. Oregon State (6.50)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder