Oregon Sweeps Men's and Women's Titles Pac-10 Track and Field Championships For Second-Straight Year

May 16, 2010

Tournament Central | Results

Berkeley, Calif. -- For the second-consecutive season and second time in school history, Oregon captured both the men’s and women’s Pac-10 Track and Field Championships on Sunday afternoon at Goldman Field at Edwards Stadium on the campus of California. 

The Oregon men won its fourth-straight title and 11th overall, while the Oregon women nabbed its second-straight championship and fourth all-time. The women tallied a Pac-10-best score of 215, edging out Arizona who finished with 109 points. For the Wildcats, it marked the highest finish at the Pac-10 Championship since 1992 when they finished second. 

“Honestly, it’s what good teams do,” head coach Vin Lananna said after the competition. “Whether it’s holding a lead or coming from behind, we demonstrated what kind of team we are. USC deserves a lot of credit, but our guys and girls teams did a fantastic job today.”

On the men’s side, Oregon entered the final day with a commanding 28 point lead over California. After three events, the Ducks opened a 50-point lead over the Golden Bears and never looked back. Throughout the meet, Oregon held off USC who finished second in the meet with 156, while Oregon finished top with 168.5 points. 

In the men’s 4x100-meter relay, UCLA (33.66) edged out cross-town rival USC (39.88). For both the Bruins and Trojans, each team recorded their fastest 4x100-meter relay time of the season, respectively. 

Oregon senior Ashton Eaton continues to add accolades to his illustrious career, becoming the fifth male track and field athlete in Pac-10 history to win three events at the Pac-10 Championships. The Bend, Ore., native accomplished this by winning the 110-meter hurdles with a time of 13.54. That marks a personal-best for Eaton and the third-fastest time this season in the country.  

“Eaton will go down as one of the best collegiate track and field athletes of all-time,” Lananna said smiling. “He did a great today today. I don’t know what else I can say about him.” 

USC senior Ahmad Rashad of Flint, Mich., successfully defended his Pac-10 100-meter title with a time of 10.20.  With his win, Rashad prevented Oregon’s Eaton, who finished second, from becoming the first male track and field athlete to win four Pac-10 Championships in the same season. Rashad also defended his 200-meter Pac-10 title with a score of 21.05. With the 100-meter and 200-meter wins, Rashad now has six-career Pac-10 sprint championships.

With a time of 48.63 in the 400-meter hurdles, Washington State junior Jeshua Anderson of Woodland Hills, Calif., recorded the fastest time this season in the 400-meter hurdles for the college ranks.

On the women’s side, Oregon took the lead over Arizona three events into Sunday’s final day of competition. The Ducks received a first place finish from junior Jamesha Youngblood of San Pablo, Calif., in the triple jump with a job of 43-07 3/4, then padded their lead with the fastest 4x100-meter relay with a time of 43.27. For Youngblood, she earned her second-straight Pac-10 Championship in the triple jump and set the school record in the process. 

The women’s 100-meter hurdle race, one of the most anticipated races of the day, featured five national champions running. The race lived up to expectations as UCLA junior Lindsay Rowe placed first with a time of 13.24. 

Oregon senior Keshia Baker became the collegiate leader this season in the women’s 400-meters with a time of 50.76. With that mark, the Sacramento, Calif., native won her third-straight Pac-10 Championship in the 400-meter and set a personal-best as well as school record in the process.

Oregon’s Eaton and senior Brianne Theisen were named Male and Female of the Meet, respectively.  

FOX Sports Net will air a two-hour tape delayed show starting Thursday, May 20. Barry Thompkins and Olympic gold medalist Joanna Hayes will call the action, while color commentary will be provided by Tom Feuer. Krista Blunk will provide additional commentary from the infield. Check local listings for the airing dates of the championships on your FOX Sports regional carrier. 

Looking Ahead: Oregon will host this year’s NCAA Championships, June 9-12 at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore. The University of Texas, Austin will host the NCAA Championships Preliminary Rounds on May 27-29, 2010. The NCAA has established qualification for the NCAA Preliminary Rounds through a descending order list from the season. For each individual event contested at the Preliminary Round competitions, the top 48 declared student-athletes will be accepted into the competition. Twelve competitors from each individual event and a minimum of eight teams from each relay event advance from each Preliminary Round site to the Final Championship Meet. 

Final Men’s Points

  1. Oregon - 168.5
  2. USC - 156
  3. Stanford - 94
  4. Arizona State - 854
  5. UCLA - 85
  6. Washington - 68
  7. Washington State - 67
  8. California - 59
  9. Arizona - 26
  10.  Oregon State - 6.5

Final Women’s Points

  1. Oregon - 215
  2. Arizona - 109
  3. Arizona State - 89.50
  4. USC 89
  5. Stanford - 88
  6. UCLA - 71.50
  7. California - 55.50
  8. Washington State - 52
  9. Washington - 47.50



Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder