Toa Tuitea Wins Top Hard Hat Award In Weight Room

May 17, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. - Toa Tuitea, a redshirt sophomore defensive tackle at Arizona State University, has been named 2009-10 Hard Hat Program Champion, according to Ben Hilgart, ASU's Head Coach for Sports Performance.

Tuitea is a 6-3, 261-pound former defensive end from Westminster, Calif. (Westminster High School). Forty-eight (48) ASU football student-athletes were recognized in the Hard Hat Program for their efforts in the weight room. The complete list is below.

The Sun Devil Hard Hat Program was created to reward those individuals who do what's right in the weight room even when no one is looking. The Sports Performance staff wants its student-athletes to be known for their tremendous work ethic on and off the field. A Hard Hat Player is someone who is self-motivated, a competitor, committed to personal and team excellence, dependable, accountable, disciplined and most importantly, puts the team first.

To become a Hard Hat Player, a student-athlete has to achieve a certain point total during the Winter Developmental Program. A student-athlete earns points based on a championship effort for strength training, speed development and conditioning sessions. They are also awarded points for competitive events and performing extra workouts in the Blitz Package Program. Each student-athlete is evaluated after every workout by the Sports Performance staff with input from an athlete's position coach when applicable.

2010 ASU Hard Hat Winners

1. Toa Tuitea (Champion)

Corey Adams

Derrall Anderson

George Bell

Omar Bolden

Jarrid Bryant

Mike Callaghan

Jonathan Clark

Chris Coyle

Dean DeLeone

Eddie Elder

Steven Figueroa

Evan Finkenberg

Clint Floyd

Garth Gerhart

Lawrence Guy

Jon Hargis

J.J. Holliday

Matt Hustad

Osahon Irabor

Patrick Jamison

Keelan Johnson

Brandon Johnson

Anthony Jones

Kyle Johnson

Cameron Kastl

Ronald Kennedy

Dan Knapp

Trevor Kohl

LeQuan Lewis

Shelly Lyons

Cameron Marshall

Shane McCullen

Jamal Miles

Bo Moos

James Morrison

Gerald Munns

Brock Osweiler

Aaron Pflugrad

Cole Rarrick

Jamarr Robinson

Andrew Sampson

Zach Schlink

Max Smith

Adam Tello

Steven Threet

Matthew Tucker

Thomas Weber