Cal Named to 16-Team Field at NCAA Rowing Championships

May 18, 2010

BERKELEY - No. 1 California was one of 16 teams selected to the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships on Tuesday. The national regatta, hosted by Washington State, is scheduled to take place from May 28-30 at Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The Golden Bears finished second overall and third in the varsity 8+ grand final at the 2009 NCAA Championships.

'It was great to be in a position where we assumed we'd be selected today,' head coach Dave O'Neill said. 'That said, we never take being invited for granted, so the season results are extremely important. I was glad to see six teams from the Pac-10 selected, and it was warranted. The selection committee has a tough job when there are so many deservingteams. We're very much looking forward to the racing, and it should be a terrific regatta.'

The Bears are coming off a Pac-10 team championship on May 16 at Lake Natoma, where Cal's varsity 8+ won the conference crown in addition to the team title. The Bears edged Stanford by half of a point for the team title, 39.5-39.0.

Cal has won the NCAA team title twice - in 2005 and 2006 - in the 13-year history of the event.

The other Pac-10 teams in the 2010 NCAA field are Washington, Stanford, USC, UCLA and host Washington State. The rest of the field consists of Brown, Clemson, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Princeton, Tennessee, Virginia, Wisconsin and Yale.

Last season, Stanford won the overall team title and the varsity 8+ crown in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder