Trojans Earn Trip To NCAA Championships

May 18, 2010

The No. 9 USC women's rowing team was one of 16 teams selected to compete in the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships, the NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Committee announced on Tuesday (May 18).

The Trojans, coming off a fourth-place finish at the recently completed Pac-10 Championships, were one of six Pac-10 teams selected to the 16-team field. Joining USC from the Pac-10, scheduled for May 28-30 at the Sacramento State Aquatic Center in Gold River, Calif., will be host team Washington State, California, Stanford, Washington and UCLA.

The other 10 teams making the field include Brown, Clemson, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Princeton, Tennessee, Virginia, Wisconsin, Yale. The team championships require each squad to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers.

USC will make its fourth team appearance at the NCAAs. The Trojans first qualified as a team in 2005 and did it again in 2007. Troy also earned a team berth in 2009, the first year the NCAA made selections exclusively as teams instead of boats.

USC's First Varsity Eight will race in the first heat against California, Michigan State, Wisconsin and Washington State at 8:45 a.m. Troy's Second Varsity Eight will compete in the third heat against Washington, Brown, Ohio State, Michigan and UCLA at 10 a.m. The Trojans' Varsity Four will race in the second heat against Washington, Yale, UCLA and Washington State at 10:30 a.m. All times are PDT.

Below is the schedule of races for May 28. Semifinals are scheduled for May 29 and finals for May 30. For more information, click the rowing site here.

First Varsity Eights
Heat one: California, USC, Michigan State, Washington, Washington State
Heat two: Yale, Stanford, Brown, Michigan, Wisconsin
Heat three: Virginia, Princeton, UCLA, Clemson, Tennessee, Ohio State

Second Varsity Eight
Heat one: Princeton, Virginia, Yale, Clemson, Tennessee
Heat two: Stanford, California, Wisconsin, Washington State, Michigan State
Heat three: Washington, Brown, Ohio State, Michigan, USC, UCLA

Varsity Four
Heat one: Virginia, California, Michigan State, Michigan, Clemson
Heat two: Washington, Yale, UCLA, USC, Washington State
Heat three: Brown, Wisconsin, Princeton, Stanford, Ohio State, Tennessee

Highlights of the Divisions I, II and III Women's Rowing Championships will appear on the 2010 CBS Sports Presents Championships of the NCAA (spring seasonal show), set to air at 4 p.m. Eastern time Saturday, June 19 on CBS.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network