Three Pac-10 Men's Tennis Teams Head to NCAA Round of 16

May 19, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader |Tournament Central



    WHAT: The 2010 NCAA Men’s Tennis Championships Round of 16 and singles and doubles competition. 

    WHEN: Team Championships: May 21-25; singles and doubles competition: May 26-31

    WHERE: Both the Team Championships and singles and doubles competition will be conducted at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., hosted by the University of Georgia.

    MATCHUPS (All Times Eastern)
    May 21, 2010
    Kentucky (25-8) vs. USC (21-3), 9 a.m.
    Winner will face the winner of Ohio State/Wisconsin in quarterfinals at 1 p.m., May 23

    STANFORD (20-5) vs. UCLA (16-6), 12 p.m.
    Winner will face the winner of Duke/Virginia in quarterfinals at 2 p.m., May 23 

    TELEVISION: The final on Tuesday, May 25, will be televised live on ESPNU at 6 p.m. ET. A tape delay will run Wednesday, May 26, on ESPN2 at 11 p.m. ET.

    SINGLES AND DOUBLES COMPETITION: The Pac-10 has six players participating in singles competition. The list includes California’s Pedro Zerbini, Stanford’s Bradley Klahn, UCLA’s Haythem Abid and Matt Brooklyn, and USC’s Steve Johnson and Robert Farah. Stanford’s Alex Clayton is listed as an alternate. Entering competition, Johnson will have the No. 2 seed. 

    In doubles, four doubles teams from the Conference will partake in the competition. The list includes, California’s Jonathan Dahan/Pedro Zerbini, Stanford’s Bradley Klahn/Ryan Thacher, UCLA’s Nick Meister/Amit Inbar and USC’s Robert Farah/Steve Johnson. Farah/Johnson will have the No. 3 seed, while Klahn/Thacher will be the No. 4 seed. 

    All matches will be played the best of three sets with regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games will be used for all matches. 

    PAC-10 MEN IN THE RANKINGS (ITA Rankings):

    Fourteen Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men’s singles rankings (as of May 3). Five Conference teams are represented by ranked individuals, with USC sophomore Steve Johnson topping the list at No. 2 and joined in the Top-10 by teammate senior Robert Farah at No. 9.

    CALIFORNIA: No. 18 Pedro Zerbini, Jr. 
    STANFORD: No. 13 Bradley Klahn, So.;  No. 62 Alex Clayton, Jr.; No. 84 Ryan Thacher, So.
    UCLA: No. 51 Haythem Abid, Sr.; No. 58 Matt Brooklyn, Sr.; No. 71 Nick Meister, Jr.; No. 117 Amit Inbar, Jr.
    USC: No. 2 Steve Johnson, So.; No. 9 Robert Farah, Sr.; No. 83 Daniel Nguyen, So.; No. 89 Jaak Poldma, Jr.; No. 121 Peter Lucassen, Jr.
    WASHINGTON: No. 87 Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, Jr.

    In doubles, Pac-10 men’s teams occupy 11 spots among the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with a ranked pair representing five different schools. USC’s tandem of Robert Farah and Steve Johnson is the highest-ranked duo at No. 2.

    ARIZONA: No. 80 Pat Metham, Sr./Borja Malo, Jr.
    CALIFORNIA: No. 30 Jonathan Dahan, Jr./Pedro Zerbini, Jr.; No. 67 Christoffer Konigsfeldt, Fr./Nick Andrews, So.
    STANFORD: No. 4 Bradley Klahn, So./Ryan Thacher, So.; No. 51 Richard Wire, Sr./Alex Clayton, Jr.
    UCLA: No. 16 Nick Meister, Jr./Amit Inbar, Jr.; No. 53 Haythem Abid, Sr./Nick Meister, Jr.
    USC: No. 2 Robert Farah, Sr./Steve Johnson, So.; No. 60 Jason McNaughton, Sr./Daniel Nguyen, So.; No. 73 Steve Johnson, So./Daniel Nguyen, So. 
    WASHINGTON: No. 75 Jeeven Nedunchezhiyan, So./Kyle McMorrow, Fr.

    HISTORY: Pac-10 men’s teams have fared well in the NCAA Tournament, winning 50 team championships, with the most recent coming in 2009 when USC won the title. Stanford and USC are tied for the Conference lead with 17 championships apiece, while UCLA has been crowned champion 16 times in school history. 

    Individually, 40 singles players from Pac-10 institutions have won the Singles NCAA Championship. UCLA’s Benjamin Kohlloeffel was the last Pac-10 men’s tennis player to win the title, doing so in 2006. Stanford and USC have had the most individual champions with 13, followed closely by UCLA with 10 champions. California has two champions, while Arizona State and Washington each have one NCAA Champion. 

    Dating back to 1922, the Pac-10 has had 54 doubles teams capture the NCAA Doubles title, most recently was the duo of Robert Farah and Kaes Van’t Hof of USC in 2008. USC has the most doubles champions with 21, while Stanford has 13 duos who have won the doubles title. UCLA has 11, followed by California with eight. James Brink and Fred Fisher won the only doubles title for Washington in 1949.

    Complete history can be found in the Pac-10 record books located on page five of this release. 

    RECAPPING OJAI: USC senior Robert Farah became the fifth Trojan to win the Pac-10 singles title, joining Kaes Van’t Hof (2008), Ryan Moore (2001), Adam Peterson (1996) and Wayne Black (1994). The senior from Cali, Colombia defeated Stanford sophomore Bradley Klahn, the 2009 Pac-10 singles champion, in straight sets, 6-2, 7-6(5). 

    In doubles action, Farah and teammate Steve Johnson became the seventh tandem in USC history to earn the Pac-10 doubles title. For Farah, it was his second Pac-10 doubles championship as he won in 2008 as a sophomore with Van’t Hof.  Farah/Johnson bested UCLA’s pair of Amit Inbar and Nick Meister in straight sets, 6-3, 7-6(4).

    Other Trojans to who have won the doubles title at the Pac-10 Championships in Ojai, Calif., included Parker Collins/Daniel Langre (2003), Brett Hansen/Fernando Samayoa (1995), Wayne Black/Jon Leach (1994), David Ekerot/Andras Lanyi (1993) and Scott Melville/Eric Amend (1988), 





  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    10:30 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
      TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

      Airing on:

      • Pac-12 Oregon
      • Pac-12 Network
      • Pac-12 Arizona
      • Pac-12 Bay Area
      • Pac-12 Los Angeles
      • Pac-12 Washington
      • Pac-12 Mountain
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder