Three Pac-10 Women's Tennis Teams Head to NCAA Round of 16

May 19, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader | Tournament Central


    WHAT: The 2010 NCAA Women’s Tennis Championships Round of 16 and singles and doubles competition.

    WHEN: Team Championships: May 21-25; singles and doubles competition: May 26-31

    WHERE: Both the Team Championships and singles and doubles competition will be conducted at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., hosted by the University of Georgia.

    MATCHUPS (All Times Eastern)
    May 20, 2010
    UCLA (21-3) vs. Duke (21-7), 12 p.m.
    Winner will face the winner of Florida State/North Carolina in the quarterfinals at 2 p.m., May 22
    CALIFORNIA (20-5) vs. Notre Dame (25-3), 3 p.m.
    Winner will face Michigan/Tennessee in the quarterfinals at 4 p.m., May 22
    STANFORD (22-1) vs. Clemson (24-5)
    Winner will face the winner of Baylor/Texas in the quarterfinals at 6 p.m., May 22

    TELEVISION: The final on Tuesday, May 25, will be televised live on ESPNU at 2 p.m. ET. A tape delay will run later that night at 10:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

    SINGLES AND DOUBLES COMPETITION: The Pac-10 has 14 players participating in singles competition. The list includes Arizona State’s Micaela Hein, California’s Jana Juricova, Mari Andersson and Marina Cossou, Stanford’s Hilary Barte and Mallory Burdette, UCLA’s Noelle Hickey, Andrea Remynse and Yasmin Schnack, UCS’s Danielle Lao, Alison Ramos and Maria Sanchez, and Washington’s Venise Chan and Denise Dy. Washington State’s Elisabeth Fournier and Liudmila Vasilieva are listed as alternates. Juricova is the No. 2 seed, Sanchez is the No. 3 seed, Barte is the No. 4 seed and Schnack is the No. 6 seed. 

    In doubles, four doubles teams from the Conference will partake in this year’s competition. The list includes California’s Mari Andersson/Jana Juricova, last year’s NCAA doubles champions, Stanford’s Lindsay Burdette/Hilary Barte, UCLA’s Andrea Remynse/Yasmin Schnack and Washington’s Denise Dy/Joyce Ardies. Burdette/Barte will have the No. 2 seed. 

    All matches will be played the best of three sets with regular scoring and a 12-point tiebreaker at six games will be used for all matches.

    The Pac-10 women occupy 32 spots on the ITA’s Top-125 singles rankings list through May 3.  Of the Top-30 players in the nation, eight hail from the Pac-10.  All nine Conference teams are represented by ranked individuals, with sophomore Jana Juricova of CALIFORNIA receiving the highest ranking at No. 2. 

    ARIZONA: No. 94 Natasha Marks, So.
    ARIZONA STATE: No. 50 Micaela Hein, Jr.; No. 74 Kelcy McKenna, Jr.; No. 116 Hannah James, Fr.
    CALIFORNIA: No. 2 Jana Juricova, So.; No. 18 Marina Cossou, Jr.; No. 35 Mari Andersson, Jr.
    STANFORD: No. 4 Hilary Barte, Jr.; No. 33 Mallory Burdette, Jr.; No. 68 Stacy Tan, Fr.; No. 83 Lindsay Burdette, Sr.
    OREGON: No. 120 Pavlina Smatova, 
    UCLA: No. 6 Yasmin Schnack, Sr.; No. 26 Andrea Remynse, Jr.; No. 46 Noelle Hickey, Jr.
    USC: No. 3 Maria Sanchez, Jr.; No. 31 Alison Ramos, So.; No. 37 Danielle Lao, Fr.; No. 122 Valeria Pulido, Fr.
    WASHINGTON:  No. 10 Denise Dy, So.; No. 15 Venise Chan, Jr. 
    WASHINGTON STATE: No. 59 Elisabeth Fournier, So.; No. 61 Liudmila Vasilieva, Fr.,

    In doubles, Pac-10 women’s teams hold 10 spots in the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with six schools represented.  The STANFORD tandem of Lindsay Burdette and Hilary Barte are the highest-ranked doubles team in the Conference, landing at No. 2.

    ARIONA STATE: No. 90 Kelcy McKenna, Jr./Hannah James, Fr.
    CALIFORNIA: No. 9 Mari Andersson, Jr./Jana Juricova, So.; No. 89 Marina Cossou Jr./Kasia Siwosz Sr.
    STANFORD: No. 2 Lindsay Burdette, Sr./Hilary Barte, Jr.; No. 56 Mallory Burdette, Jr./Stacy Tan Fr.
    UCLA: No. 4 Andrea Remynse, Jr./Yasmin Schnack, Sr.
    USC:  No. 61 Maria Sanchez, Jr./Valeria Pulido, Fr.; No. 64 Danielle Lao, Fr./Maria Sanchez, Jr.; No. 81  Lyndsay Kinstler Jr./Maria Sanchez, Jr.;
    WASHINGTON: No. 21 Denise Dy, So./Joyce Ardies, Sr.

    HISTORY: Since 1982, Pac-10 institutions have captured 18 NCAA team championships. Leading the way is Stanford who has won 15 championships. USC won the championship in 1983 and 1985, while UCLA won the most recent title in 2008. For the Bruins, it marked their first women’s tennis title.

    Individually, 15 singles players have won the Singles NCAA Championship. California’s Susie Babos was the last Pac-10 women’s tennis player to win, winning it in 2006. Stanford has had the most individual champions from the Pac-10, most recently with Amber Liu who won in 2003 and 2004. The Golden Bears, Bruins and Trojans each have one singles champion.

    In all, 16 Pac-10 doubles teams have been crowned the NCAA Doubles Champions, most recently California’s pair of Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova in 2009. UCLA has the most doubles champions with six, while the Golden Bears have earned five, followed by Stanford with four. Alix Creek and Michelle Oldham won the only doubles title for Arizona in 1993. 

    Complete Pac-10 history in the NCAA Tournament can be found in the record books, located on pages four and five of this release. 

    RECAPPING OJAI: UCLA senior Yasmin Schnack became the sixth Bruin to win the Pac-10 singles title, joining Riza Zalameda (2008), Sara Walker (2000), Annica Cooper (1998), Keri Phebus (1995) and Jane Thomas (1987). The senior from Sacramento, Calif., swept Stanford junior Hilary Barte in set straight, 6-4, 7-5. 

    In doubles action, Schnack and teammate Andrea Remynse captured the Pac-10 doubles title by defeating Stanford’s duo of Barte/Lindsay Burdette, 6-1, 6-0. For Schnack, it was her second Pac-10 doubles championship as she won in 2007 as a freshman with Zalameda. The pair became the sixth tandem in Bruin history to win the Pac-10 doubles championship, joining Mariko Fritz-Krockow/Sara Walker (2001), Keri Phebus/Paige Yaroshuk (1996), Kimberly Po/Stella Sampras (1991) and Sampras/Mamie Ceniza (1989).