35 Sun Devils Selected to Compete at NCAA Preliminary Round Meet

May 21, 2010

TEMPE – The list of accepted entries into the NCAA Preliminary Round Track & Field competitions were announced by the NCAA on Friday with 35 members of the Arizona State University program being selected to compete at the west site meet that will be held in Austin, Texas, May 29-30. In all, the Sun Devils will send 19 men and 16 women to compete in Austin, which is one of two sites (Greensboro, N.C.) that will hold competitions that will feed into the national finals in Eugene, Ore., June 9-12.

To advance from the preliminary rounds in Austin, the Sun Devils will have to place among the Top 12 overall in their respective events. The Top 12 from each site will come together in Eugene for a final field of 24 entries where national titles and All-America honors will be determined. Two women in three individual events, both women’s relays, six men in nine events and the men’s 4x400m relay all enter next weekend’s meet with marks in the Top 12 in the west.

Several Sun Devils will be busy in Austin, including Jasmine Chaney and Jason Lewis. Chaney is set to compete in a pair of individual events, including the 100m hurdles (ranked 12th) and the 400m hurdles (seventh) while also anchoring the 4x100m and 4x400m relays, both of which are ranked 10th in the west. Lewis, once again, will compete in all three weight events as he will throw in the shot put (third), the discus (fourth) and the hammer (fourth).

The meet in Austin begins next Friday and concludes on Saturday.

Sun Devils Accepted to the 2010 NCAA Preliminary Round - West Site Meet
(West Site ranking)
Cara Carpenter - Pole Vault (27)
Jasmine Chaney - 100mH (12), 400mH (7), 4x100m (10), 4x400m (10)
Constance Ezugha - Long Jump (33)
Kari Hardt - 1,500m (19)
Samantha Henderson - High Jump (43)
Ali Kielty - 10,000m (17)
Dominique’ Maloy - 400m (16), 4x100m (10), 4x400m (10)
Cherise McNair - 3,000m steeplechase (19)
Cj Navarro - Discus (15)
Christabel Nettey - 100mH (23), 4x100m (10), Long Jump (20)
Keia Pinnick - 400mH (12), 4x400m (10)
Lindsay Prescott - 10,000m (31)
Kayla Sanchez - 4x100m (10), 4x100m (10)
Angela Spadafino - 3,000m steeplechase (39)
Anna Sperry - 1,500m (38)
Kauren Tarver - 3,000m steeplechase (20)

Men (West Site ranking)
Nectaly Barbosa - 1,500m (38)
Allante Battle - 4x400m (4)
Brandon Bethke - 5,000m (2)
Jordan Clarke - Shot Put (10), Discus (14)
Dylan Hatcher - 1,500m (45)
Jeff Helmer - 5,000m (33)
John Kline - 800m (47)
Justin Kremer - 400m (28), 4x400m (4)
Jason Lewis - Shot Put (3), Discus (4), Hammer (4)
Daniel Lovell - 5,000m (43)
Eddie McClain - Javelin (40)
Mason McHenry - 800m (8)
Ray Miller - 200m (36)
Marc Peck - Javelin (34)
Joel Phillip - 400m (14), 4x400m (4)
Austin Prince - Pole Vault (48)
Donald Sanford - 400m (4), 4x400m (4)
Zeke Van Patten - 5,000m (26)
Ryan Whiting - Shot Put (1), Discus (7)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network