Pac-10 Runners, Jumpers and Throwers to Compete in NCAA Track and Field Preliminaries

May 24, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader | NCAA Tournament Central


    WALNUT CREEK, CALIF. -- The NCAA Preliminary Rounds of the Track and Field Championships will get underway in Austin, Texas., this Thursday through Saturday, May 27-29. The University of Texas will host the event at Mike A. Myers Stadium (capacity: 20,000). Pac-10 student-athletes comprise 337 entries for this weekend's events which begin Thursday, May 27 and concludes Saturday, May 29 at 9:45 p.m. CT. Results will be available at and throughout and at the conclusion of competition.

    Here's a breakdown of the number of Pac-10 student-athletes declared for competition this weekend:
    ARIZONA - 8 men. 21 women
    ARIZONA STATE - 18 men, 16 women
    CALIFORNIA - 13 men, 17 women
    OREGON - 22 men, 19 women
    OREGON STATE - 2 men, 4 women
    STANFORD - 15 men, 18 women
    UCLA - 19 men, 14 women
    USC - 15 men, 14 women
    WASHINGTON - 15 men, 12 women
    WASHINGTON STATE - 11 men, 15 women

    2010 NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS . . . The top 12 finishers in each event from each of the two Preliminary Round sites (Greensboro, N.C. and Austin, Texas) automatically advance to the NCAA Championships. This year's national championships will be held June 9-12 at University of Oregon, Eugene, Ore.

    THE RANKINGS. . . Here's where the Pac-10 ranks in USTFCCCA's Top-25 as of May 24:

    2. Oregon
    4. USC
    6. Arizona State
    13. Stanford
    15. California
    21. Washington

    1. Oregon
    15. USC
    17. Arizona
    22. Stanford

    PAC-10 HISTORY . . . Clearly the nation's most successful track and field Conference ever, the Pacific-10 Conference has produced such track and field greats as Meb Keflezighi, Bernard Lagat, Ato Boldon, John Godina, Balazs Kiss, Mike Powell, Greg Foster, Kevin Young, Andre Phillips, James Robinson, Joaquim Cruz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Griffith-Joyner, Evelyn Ashford, Henry Rono, Steve Prefontaine, Bob Mathias, Bob Seagren, Gail Devers, Sheila Hudson, Willie Banks, Quincy Watts, Alberto Salazar and Mac Wilkins, to name just a few. Pac-10 schools have won an unprecedented 45 of 84 NCAA men's team titles (USC 26, UCLA 8, ORE 5, STAN 4, ASU 1, CAL 1), while six of the 27 women's titles have gone to Pac-10 teams (UCLA 3, ASU 1, ORE 1, USC 1).  Pac-10 men have won 316 individual NCAA titles, while Pac-10 women have claimed 109 individual NCAA titles. 

    PAC-10 CHAMPIONSHIPS . . . The OREGON Ducks won their sixth men's Pac-10 title in eight years, and 11th overall, edging USC by 12.50 points (168.50 to 156). Ashton Eaton led the way for the Ducks as captured individual titles in the long jump (5.38m/25-07.50), 110-meter hurdles (13.54) and the decathlon (8154 pts) and posted a meet-high 39.25 points. In addition, Andrew Wheating (800m/1:47.77) and Matthew Centrowitz (1500m/3:41.16) successfully defended their titles in their respective events... The OREGON women successfully defended their team title, their fourth overall.The Ducks posted a Pac-10 Championships record with 215 points, thanks to 11 individual winners and a title in the 4x100 relay. Double winners for the Ducks were Amber Purvis (100m/11.38, 200m/23.14), Nicole Blood (5,000m/16:06.74, 10,000m/33:28.38) and Jamesha Youngblood (long jump/21-09.00, triple jump/43-07.75)... Other double winners included USC's Ahmad Rashad (100m/10.20, 200m/21.05), STANFORD's Chris Derrick (5,000m/13:43.69, 10,000m/29:10.80), and ARIZONA STATE's Ryan Whiting (shot put/70-00.25, discus/193-01) .

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    7:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder