California Tennis Set for NCAA Individual Championships

May 25, 2010

ATHENS, Ga. - The National Collegiate Athletic Association released draws for the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Singles and Doubles Championships on Tuesday, May 25, with five individuals from the California men's and women's tennis teams representing the Golden Bears. The championships will be played on the courts of the Dan Magill Tennis Complex on the campus of host University of Georgia from Wednesday (May 26) through Monday (May 31).

No. 2-ranked sophomore Jana Juricova received the women's second seed and will face No. 23-ranked Catherine Newman of Vanderbilt in a 10 a.m. ET first-round match. Juricova leads the Bears with a 39-6 overall singles record and lays claim to the 2009 ITA National Indoor Singles crown. No. 35-ranked junior Mari Andersson will take on ninth-ranked Lauren Embree of Florida in a 5:30 p.m. ET match in the first round. Andersson ranks second on the squad with a 32-9 overall singles mark.

No. 18-ranked junior Marina Cossou draws No. 41-ranked Samantha Murray of Northwestern for her first-round match set for 1:30 p.m. ET. Cossou is the third of three Cal players to post at least 30 singles victories this season and stands with a 30-10 record this year. Murray and Cossou have met twice in their careers with Murray coming out on top each time. Most recently, the two faced each other on court two during the ITA National Team Indoor Championship semifinals on Feb. 14.

In the women's doubles field, Cal's ninth-ranked defending champions Andersson and Juricova drew the No. 26-ranked duo of Embree and Anastasia Revzina of Florida in the round of 32. The Bear tandem is 31-9 overall and went 21-3 in duals with a 7-0 mark in Pac-10 duals.

The Cal women have claimed five of the last 12 NCAA doubles titles. Head coach Amanda Augustus and volunteer assistant coach Amy Jensen hoisted the trophy twice for the Bears with titles in 1998 and '99. Jensen returned to claim a third title with Claire Curran in 2000. Christina Fusano and Raquel Kops-Jones earned the title once more in 2003 before Andersson and Juricova took home the hardware in 2009. Cal owns one NCAA women's singles championship as Susie Babos claimed the crown in 2006.

On the men's side, No. 18-ranked junior Pedro Zerbini must face top-seeded and No. 2-ranked Henrique Cunha of Duke in a 3:30 p.m. ET match to open his run in the singles championship. Joined with fellow junior Jonathan Dahan, Zerbini is part of the No. 30-ranked team in the nation. The pair will take on the 25th-ranked team of Pedro Campus and Diego Cubas of South Carolina in the first round of doubles matches.

E.G. 'Bud' Chandler earned back-to-back singles national titles for Cal in 1925 and '26. Bears also claimed national doubles titles in 1925, '26, '30, '35, '37, '39 and '52. Doug Eisenman and Matt Lucena brought home Cal's first NCAA doubles championship in 1990. Then, Lucena joined forced with Bent-Ove Pedersen to repeat as doubles champions in 1991 to give the Bears a total of nine titles.

Singles matches begin on Wednesday (May 26) with doubles starting on Thursday (May 27). Both championships will feature one round of play each day through championship matches set for Monday (May 31). The No. 12-ranked women's tennis team advanced to the round of 16 in the team competition before the Bears fell to No. 6 Notre Dame, 4-2. The 17th-ranked men's team defeated UC Irvine in the opening round before bowing out to No. 9 UCLA, 4-0. For more information on the championships, please visit

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network