Callahan Named Pac-10's Top Coach; Five Rowers Honored As All-Pac-10

May 27, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-10 All-Conference team for rowing was released on Thursday afternoon by commissioner Larry Scott, and the University of Washington men's crew team is well represented.

Coach Michael Callahan was named the Pac-10's Coach of the Year for his stewardship in guiding the Huskies through their undefeated campaign. It's the first such honor for Callahan, who will be looking to lead his alma mater to their second straight IRA title next week in Camden, N.J. The former freshmen coach at UW, Callahan now oversees a program that continues to produce elite-level rowers year in and year out.

Additionally, four rowers from the No. 1-ranked Huskies earned their way onto the list, the most of any school in the conference. The selections included junior Hans Struzyna, senior Max Lang, sophomore Conlin McCabe and junior Anthony Jacob, all members of the undefeated men's varsity eight this season, a boat that is coming off an open-water victory over Cal at the Pac-10 Championships.

After the season ends, Struzyna - who's from Kirkland, Wash. - plans to attend the U-23 sculling camp in Oklahoma City. McCabe, Lang and Jacob have extensive experience rowing for Canada and should do so again this summer. Lang and Jacob are both from British Columbia, while McCabe hails from Brockville, Ontario.

In another nod, Hannes Heppner was selected as Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year. The powerful junior from Berlin, Germany, has given the varsity eight another level of boat speed since he joined the team this season, which has also included a sweep of the Cal Dual, Windermere Cup and the Stanford Invitational.

Members of the All-Conference rowing teams are based upon each institution's finish in the varsity eight championship race at the Conference Championships, which were held May 16 on Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. The Conference champion provides four members of the All-Conference team, the Pac-10 second-place crew provides three members, and the Pac-10 third-place finisher provides two. All other participating Conference crews receive one selection each.

Mike Buckiewicz, OSU
Brian Belleville, UCLA
James Dorsey, WSU
Sean Engel, CAL
Nareg Guregian, CAL
Ryan Hasvold, USC
Anthony Jacob, WASH
Max Lang, WASH
Alec Levy, STAN
Conlin McCabe, WASH
Dane McFadden, STAN
Hans Struzyna, WASH
Zach Vlahos, CAL

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder