Three Bruins Named To U.S. World Cup Team

May 27, 2010

UCLA alumni Carlos Bocanegra, Jonathan Bornstein and Benny Feilhaber were selected to the 23-man U.S. squad for the 2010 FIFA World Cup, marking the sixth consecutive World Cup that at least three UCLA players have been selected. Bocanegra will be making his second World Cup appearance, having been a member of the 2006 squad. Bornstein and Feilhaber will be first-time World Cup participants.

Bocanegra, the U.S. team captain who plays for Rennes in France, has 77 career caps with the U.S. National Team and has scored 12 goals. He lettered at UCLA from 1997-99 and helped lead UCLA to two College Cups and the 1997 NCAA title. The two-time All-American was a M.A.C. Award and Hermann Trophy nominee in 1999.

Bornstein has 29 career caps and two goals for the U.S. The Chivas USA defender and 2006 MLS Rookie of the Year played at UCLA from 2004-05 and earned All-Pac-10 honors his senior year.

Feilhaber, who plays for AGF Aarhus in Denmark, has totaled 31 career caps with two goals. He was a walk-on at UCLA in 2003 and turned pro after his sophomore season after making a big splash at the 2005 Under-20 World Youth Championships.

UCLA has now produced 14 World Cup players, including seven who participated in two or more World Cups.

The U.S. team departs for South Africa on May 30 and will play its opening match of the tournament against England on June 12 in Rustenburg live on ABC at 11 a.m. PT.

U.S. ROSTER BY POSITION (All-Time World Cup Roster Appearances)
GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (2010), Marcus Hahnemann (2006, 2010), Tim Howard (2006, 2010)

DEFENDERS (7): Carlos Bocanegra (2006, 2010), Jonathan Bornstein (2010), Steve Cherundolo (2002, 2006, 2010), Jay DeMerit (2010), Clarence Goodson (2010), Oguchi Onyewu (2006, 2010), Jonathan Spector (2010)

MIDFIELDERS (9): DaMarcus Beasley (2002, 2006, 2010), Michael Bradley (2010), Ricardo Clark (2010), Clint Dempsey (2006, 2010), Landon Donovan (2002, 2006, 2010), Maurice Edu (2010), Benny Feilhaber (2010), Stuart Holden (2010), José Torres (2010)

FORWARDS (4): Jozy Altidore (2010), Edson Buddle (2010), Robbie Findley (2010), Herculez Gomez (2010)

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder