UCLA Women's Rowing Set to Race at NCAA Championships

May 27, 2010

SACRAMENTO - The UCLA women's rowing program begins competition at the 2010 NCAA Championships on Friday, May 28. Each of the Bruins' three crews (V8, 2V8, V4) will race in their respective opening heats on Friday morning in Rancho Cordova, Calif.

Ranked No. 13 nationally in the latest top-20 collegiate poll (USRowing), the Bruins have earned their first team berth to the NCAA Championships in program history. UCLA helped earn an at-large selection to this year's field after finishing fifth at Pac-10 Championships two weeks ago. The Bruins' varsity eight finished fourth, while UCLA's second varsity earned a third-place finish.

UCLA's varsity eight will race in Heat 3 on Friday morning at 9:15 a.m. The Bruins will face Clemson, Ohio State, Princeton, Tennessee and Virginia in their opening race. The second varsity will compete in Heat 3 at 10 a.m., racing against Brown, Michigan, Ohio State, USC and Washington. UCLA's varsity four races at 10:30 a.m. in Heat 2, facing USC, Washington, Washington State and Yale.

Each of 16 teams selected to compete at the NCAA Championships will race two varsity eight crews and one varsity four boat. Each of the top three finishers in the preliminary heat on Friday morning advance to a semifinal race on Saturday morning. Those who do not finish in the top three will race in a repechage on Friday afternoon.

Sunday's races include Grand Finals, Petite Finals and Third Level races. Each Grand Final race features that event's top-six finishers. The Petite Final races include the No. 7 through No. 12 boats, while the Third Level races include the No. 13 through No. 16 crews (based on results from Friday and Saturday).

The NCAA Championships format uses a weighted point system, whereby the varsity eight is awarded more points (36) for a top finish than the second varsity (24) or varsity four crew (12).

UCLA had previously sent its top varsity eight boat as an 'at-large' selection to the NCAA Championships in 2005, 2006 and 2007. This spring marks the first time in which the Bruins have earned a team selection (two eights, one four) to the NCAA Championships.

UCLA's Rowing Lineups (NCAA Championships)

Varsity Eight: (stroke) Lauren Counter, (7) Rachel LaBella, (6) Alexandra Bolt, (5) Hilary Caldwell, (4) Britta Syverson, (3) Lynn Hancock, (2) Kristin Fitzmorris, (bow) Anastasia Alexander, (coxswain) Alaizah Koorji

Second Varsity Eight: (stroke) Jessica McGuire, (7) Caroline Curson, (6) Kaitlin Doering, (5) Anna Musky-Goldwyn, (4) Katherine Hruska, (3) Alexa Farafontoff, (2) Kirstin Snook (bow) Erica Lockard, (coxswain) Mia Hamano

Varsity Four: (stroke) Taylor Vella, (3) Christina Sprouse, (2) Alexis McPhee, (bow) Anne Schier, (coxswain) Ariel Handler

Alternates: Monica Harvancik, Lindsay Pollock

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network