This Week in Pac-10 Baseball

June 1, 2010


  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader |Oregon State's Santos Named Pac-10 Baseball Player of the Week

    Pac-10 All-Academic Teams



    Fayetteville Regional (Fayetteville, Ark.)
    Friday, June 4 
    No. 1 Arkansas vs. No. 4 Grambling, 2:05 p.m.
    No. 2 WASHINGTON STATE vs. No. 3 Kansas State, 7:05 p.m.

    Fort Worth Regional (Fort Worth, Texas)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 2 Baylor vs. No. 3 ARIZONA, 2 p.m.
    No. 1 TCU vs. No. 4 Lamar, 7 p.m.

    Fullerton Regional (Fullerton, Calif.)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 2 STANFORD vs. No. 3 New Mexico, 4 p.m.
    No. 1 Cal State Fullerton vs. No. 4 Minnesota, 8 p.m.

    Gainesville Regional (Gainesville, Fla.)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 2 Florida Atlantic vs. No. 3 OREGON STATE, 1 p.m.
    No. 1 Florida vs. No. 4 Bethune-Cookman 7 p.m.

    Los Angeles Regional (Los Angeles, Calif.)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 2 LSU vs. No. 3 UC Irvine, 2 p.m.
    No. 1 UCLA vs. No. 4 Kent State, 6 p.m.

    Norman Regional (Norman, Okla.)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 1 Oklahoma vs. No. 4 Oral Roberts, 1 p.m.
    No. 2 CALIFORNIA vs. No. 3 North Carolina, 7 p.m.

    Storrs Regional (Storrs, Conn.)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 1 Florida State vs. No. 4 Central Conn. State, 2 p.m.
    No. 2 Connecticut vs. No. 3 OREGON, 7 p.m.

    Tempe Regional (Tempe, Ariz.)
    Friday, June 4
    No. 2 Hawai’i vs. No. 2 San Diego, 2 p.m.
    No. 1 ARIZONA STATE vs. No. 4 Milwaukee, 7 p.m.

    Game local to site and subject to change.

    Tournament Format:

    • Each regional will feature two games Friday, Saturday and Sunday. A game seven will take place on Monday, June 7, if necessary.

    •  Each of the 16 regionals feature four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4, to Monday, June 7 (if necessary).



    ARIZONA (33-22, 12-15): The Wildcats return to postseason action after a one-year hiatus. They have appeared in the NCAA Tournament in six of the last eight seasons, including in 2004 when the team advanced to its first NCAA College World Series since 1986, when the Wildcats captured the school’s third national chmapionship. Under head coach Andy Lopez, Arizona has a 14-11 record in postseason play. During the regular season, the Wildcats strung together a 15-game winning streak, the seventh-longest in the nation in 2010.  

    ARIZONA STATE (47-8, 20-7): For the first time in school history, the Sun Devils earned the top national seed for the NCAA Tournament. ASU makes its 34th all-time appearance, the sixth-most in NCAA history. Winner of four-straight Pac-10 Championships, the Sun Devils look to return to the CWS for the second-consecutive season and are looking for their first title since 1981. ASU is tied for third with USC for the most CWS appearances in NCAA history at 21 and has won five crowns, the second-most all-time. ASU’s 24-game winning streak to start the season was a program record and was the second-longest streak in school history. First year coach Tim Esmay set a new ASU standard for wins to start a career with 24, besting Jim Brock who held the previous record at 12-0.

    CALIFORNIA (29-23, 13-14): The Golden Bears are making their 11th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and first since 2008. Cal captured its first-ever NCAA College World Series title in 1947 and won it again ten years later in 1957. The last appearance in Omaha was in 1992 when the club finished tied for seventh place. The Bears will be making the tournament for the third time under head coach Dave Esquer’s 11-years tenure in Berkeley. 

    OREGON (38-22, 13-14): The Ducks are in the field for the first time since 1964 and only two years after reinstating the baseball program. Overall, Oregon has made three trips to postseason play. Skipper George Horton will be making his 12th appearance in the post season, after making 11 trips to the playoffs in 11 seasons at Cal State Fullerton. 

    OREGON STATE (31-22, 12-15): This year’s regional berth marks the 11th all-time appearance for Oregon State dating back to 1952. From 2005-2007, the Beavers advanced to the NCAA College World Series where they won back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2007. In doing so, OSU became just the fifth program in NCAA history to win consecutive titles. Head coach Pat Casey is the school’s all-time winning coach in tournament games, going 29-8 (.783). 

    STANFORD (31-23, 14-13): The Cardinal is making its 29th all-time NCAA Regional appearance and the first since 2008. Stanford has reached seven Super Regionals and has played in 16 NCAA College World Series’, bringing the title back to The Farm in 1987 and 1988. It is one of five programs in NCAA history to win back-to-back championships. In his 34th season at the helm of the Cardinal, head coach Mark Marquess has coached his Cardinal teams to all but two NCAA Regionals.  

    UCLA (43-13, 18-9): For the first time in school history, the Bruins have secured a national seed, earning the No. 6 seed in this year’s field. In addition, UCLA will host a regional for the second time in program history and the first since 1986. Head coach John Savage’s squad is making the school’s 16th all-time NCAA Tournament berth and the fourth trip in the past five seasons. The Bruins have made two NCAA College World Series, with the last appearance in Omaha coming in 1997. UCLA opened the campaign with a school-record 22-0 start. 

    WASHINGTON STATE (34-20, 15-12): For the second-consecutive season, the Cougars received an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament. Washington State takes part in the postseason in back-to-back years for the first time since the 1987-88 campaigns. The Cougars have played in the NCAA College World Series four times - 1950, 1956, 1965, 1976 - with its best finish coming from the 1950 team that finished in second place. Under skipper Donnie Marbut, the Cougars have made the postseason two times. 




  • Categories:
    • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
      TODAY | 9:00pm PT

      Airing on:

      • Pac-12 Oregon
      • Pac-12 Network
      • Pac-12 Arizona
      • Pac-12 Bay Area
      • Pac-12 Los Angeles
      • Pac-12 Washington
      • Pac-12 Mountain
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder