ASU Baseball Hands Out Team Awards At 26th Annual Banquet

June 2, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

The Arizona State University Baseball program handed out their team awards at the 26th Annual Baseball Banquet at the Fiesta Inn Resort on Tuesday night. Zack MacPhee was named the On Deck Circle Most Valuable Player.

The Sun Devils, who are the #1 National Seed entering this weekend's NCAA Tournament, finished the regular season 47-8 and won the Pac-10 Conference.

The 2010 Award winners were:
Mr. Fireman- Jordan Swagerty and Mitchell Lambson
Jim Henderson Courage Award- Riccio Torrez
Casey Myers Academic Award- Matt Newman
Phill Lowery Comeback Player Award- Zach Wilson and Jake Borup
Alvin Davis Leadership Award- Raoul Torrez and Kole Calhoun
Developmental MVP- Andrew Aplin
Newcomer of the Year- Brady Rodgers and Deven Marrero
Bob Eger Award- Kole Calhoun
Outstanding Offensive Player- Zack MacPhee
Outstanding Defensive Player- Raoul Torrez
Pitcher of the Year- Seth Blair
Jim Brock/Mr. Sun Devil Award- Drew Maggi
Bobby Winkles Award- Johnny Ruettiger
The Tillman- Merrill Kelly
On Deck Circle MVP- Zack MacPhee

MacPhee joins a star-studded list of On Deck Circle MVPs, including last season's winner and current Cincinnati Red Mike Leake. Former winners include Major Leaguers Dustin Pedroia, Ike Davis, Paul Lo Duca and Barry Bonds.

The Sun Devils open the 2010 NCAA Tournament in the Tempe Regional on Friday, when they face UW-Milwaukee at 7 p.m. at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder