Lloyd and Murrey Capture Gold with USA A2 Blue Squad

June 2, 2010

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Courtesy: Bill Kauffman, USA Volleyball | Phone: 719-228-6800 | E-Mail: bill.kauffman@usav.org

California volleyball All-American senior setter Carli Lloyd and junior outside hitter Tarah Murrey helped the U.S. Women's National A2 Blue Team capture the gold medal in the USA Volleyball Open National Championships Open Division on Tuesday (June 1) at the Phoenix Convention Center. The tournament, which began on May 29, concludes on June 5. The two Golden Bears were selected to the USAV Open Division All-Tournament Team.

Lloyd and Murrey were in a familiar position as they had helped the A2 Blue squad earn a bronze medal at the 2009 championships a year ago. Lloyd also owns a gold medal from the 2008 championships as a member of the A2 Red squad. She is the only player in history be receive three consecutive selections to the USA A2 team.

USA A2 Blue swept the Exterminators, 25-19, 25-13, 28-26, in the championship match. Earlier in the day, USA A2 Blue blanked the same Exterminator squad to advance directly to the gold-medal match.

Juliann Faucette of Texas was named the tournament's most valuable player after scoring a match-high 20 points in the final. She earned those points on 16 kills via 33 attacks, three blocks and an ace. Murrey added 15 kills on 31 attacks with just two errors. Jennifer Doris, also from Texas, contributed 11 points.

Lloyd set USA Blue to a .440 kill percentage and .358 hitting efficiency from her setter position. She tacked on six individual points with four kills and two blocks. Rounding out the scoring was San Diego's Ali Troost's with two points.

The USA Volleyball High Performance pipeline A2 Teams have been competing in the Open Division since 2003. Its only other championships in the event were earned in 2004 and 2008. The USA A2 Program is the only team with more than one Women's Open Division title in the last eight years.

In addition to Lloyd, Murrey, and MVP Faucette, the Women's Open Division All-Tournament Team included Heather Kisner and Sonja Newcombe from the silver-medalist Exterminators, and Laura DeBruler from the USA A2 Red Team. USA A2 Red won the bronze medal after falling to the Exterminators in the consolation semifinals.

USA Volleyball has showcased its USA Adult Open Volleyball Championships for 80 years since the organization's founding in 1928. Except for 1943 and 1944 during the height of World War II, the Open has been a mainstay celebrating adult volleyball nationally. The event is one of the largest national championships in any sport in the United States, and the Open has featured the sport of volleyball from coast-to-coast.

For more information on the championships and on USA Volleyball, please visit www.usavolleyball.org.

2010 U.S. Women's National A2 Blue Team# - Name (College, Position, College Eligibility Left, Height, Hometown)1 - Rachael Adams (Texas, MB, 2, 6-2, Cincinnati, Ohio)2 - Jen Doris (Texas, MB, 1, 6-5, Houston, Texas)3 - Juliann Faucette (Texas, OH, 1, 6-2, San Diego, Calif.)4 - Lindsay Fletemier (Dayton, MB, 1, 6-6, Garden City, Mich.)5 - Nikki Fowler (Tennessee, OH, 1, 6-2, Dallas, Texas)6 - Carli Lloyd (California-Berkeley, S, 1, 5-11, Bonsall, Calif.)7 - Tarah Murrey (California-Berkeley, OH, 2, 6-3, El Cerrito, Calif.)8 - Juliane Piggott (UC Irvine, OH, 1, 6-2, Newport Beach, Calif.)9 - Evan Sanders (Colorado State, S, 2, 6-0, Lafayette, Colo.)10 - Ali Troost (San Diego, OPP, 1, 6-1, Hemet, Calif.)11 - Sydney Yogi (Texas, L, 2, 5-2, Honolulu)12 - Ashley Mass (Iowa State, L, 1, 5-8, Muskego, Wis.)

Head Coach: Mark Rosen (University of Michigan)Assistant Coach: Jill Kramer (University of Virginia)Technical Support: John Newman-Gonchar (Loyola Marymount University)

2010 U.S. Women's National A2 Red Team# - Name (College, Position, College Eligibility Left, Height, Hometown)1 - Alyssa Davis (Auburn, MB, 1, 6-5, Oakland Park, Fla.)2 - Laura DeBruler (Illinois, OH, 1, 5-10, Downers Grove, Ill.)3 - Kanani Danielson (Hawaii, OH, 2, 5-10, Ewa Beach, Hawaii)4 - Whitney Dosty (Arizona, OH, 1, 6-3, Tucson, Ariz.)5 - Monique Mead (Georgia Tech, OPP, 3, 5-10, Newnan, Ga.)6 - Sabel Moffett (Northwestern, MB, 1, 6-0, Temecula, Calif.)7 - Kelly Murphy (Florida, S, 2, 6-2, Wilmington, Ill.)8 - Dominique Olowolafe (Cal Poly, MB, 1, 6-1, Lansing, Mich.)9 - Paige Weber (Arizona, S, 1, 5-9, Indianapolis, Ind.)11 - Laurie Gonzalez (Albany, L, 2, 5-9, Carolina, Puerto Rico)12 - Ellie Blankenship (Northern Iowa, L, 1, 5-10, Cedar Rapids, Iowa)14 - Kelsey Black (Texas A&M, OH, 2, 5-11, Amarillo, Texas)

Head Coach: Beth Launiere (University of Utah)Assistant Coach: Steve Loeswick (LSU)Technical Support: Tyler Adams (UCF through Aug. 2010, then University of North Carolina)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network