Washington's Lawrie Named Softball Player of the Year for the Second-Straight Season

June 2, 2010



WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - WASHINGTON senior pitcher Danielle Lawrie became the second player in the history of the award to be named the USA Softball National Collegiate Player of the Year in back-to-back years, the Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America and USA Softball announced Tuesday evening. The award, in its ninth year of existence, is considered the most prestigious honor in Division I women’s collegiate softball and recognizes outstanding athletic achievement by female collegiate softball players across the country. Lawrie is the second Pac-10 player all-time to win the award, following UCLA’s Stacy Nuveman, who won the award in 2002.

Lawrie is currently 40-3 with a 1.00 ERA and 478 strikeouts in 228.1 innings pitched as she leads the Huskies into the NCAA Women’s College World Series on Thursday. The Langley, B.C., native broke the Conference’s career strikeout record with 1,843 K’s and ranks fourth in NCAA history in the category. Twice this season, she had streaks of 25-straight scoreless innings and owns a nation-best 24 shutouts this season to break her own single-season school record. Lawrie has thrown four no-hitters, including a Pac-10 record three perfect games. She holds seven of 10 UW career records, including wins (136), strikeouts (1,843), shutouts (65), appearances (192), starts (166), complete games (145) and innings thrown (1,176). 

At the plate, Lawrie led the team with 15 home runs, 57 RBI and a slugging percentage of .616.  The accolades have piled up for Lawrie, who was named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year, first team All-Pac-10 and first team Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-Pacific Region. She also won the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors a record eight times this season and was named either USA Softball or Louisville Slugger NFCA National Player of the Week on five different occasions. 

The senior leads the Huskies in defense of their 2009 NCAA title in the NCAA Women’s College World Series, beginning on Thursday at 6:30 p.m. PT against Georgia.



Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network