2010 Pac-10 Baseball All-Conference Awards Announced

June 3, 2010


  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader




    WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- ARIZONA STATE sophomore second baseman Zack MacPhee has been named the 2010 Pacific-10 Conference Baseball Player of the Year, while teammate junior right-hander Seth Blair has earned Pitcher of the Year honors. CALIFORNIA junior second baseman Brian Guinn has been selected the Defensive Player of the Year, STANFORD freshman third baseman Kenny Diekroeger has been named Freshman of the Year and Arizona State’s Tim Esmay has garnered Coach of the Year honors, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today. The awards are determined by a vote of the league’s coaches. 

    MacPhee leads the Pac-10 in three offensive categories, including on-base percentage (.490), runs scored (62) and triples (14). He ranks second in slugging percentage (.686), third in batting average (.381), RBI (59) and total bases (133), and seventh in hits (74). His 14 triples set a new school record, previously held by 2010 College Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee Alan Bannister in 1971 who hit 13 triples. The Phoenix, Ariz., native has been selected as one of 30 semifinalists for the 2010 Golden Spikes Award, presented annually to the top player in college baseball. A Sun Devil has now been selected the Conference’s Player of the Year for the last four seasons (Brett Wallace 2007, 2008, Jason Kipnis 2009). It marks the first time in Pac-10 history that an institution has produced four-straight winners. 

    Blair became the second-straight Sun Devil to win Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year honors (Mike Leake won in 2008 and 2009). The Rock Falls, Ill., native leads the Conference with 11 wins, a mark that ranks third in the nation. He boasts a 3.20 ERA and 90 strikeouts in 90.0 innings of works. His marks in ERA and strikeouts ranks eighth in the Pac-10, respectively. In Pac-10 play, the righty posted a 7-0 record with a 3.51 ERA and 54 strikeouts in 59.0 innings on the mound. For the first time in the Conference’s history, a school has won three-consecutive Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year. 

    Guinn becomes the first Golden Bear player to earn Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year. The El Sobrante, Calif., native started 50 games at second base, registering a .977  field percentage, while committing just six errors. He also had 94 putouts and was second on the team with 158 assists. In addition, he hit .324 with 12 doubles, four triples, one home run, 15 stolen bases and 29 RBI for the Bears. His five triples ranked fifth in the Pac-10. 

    Diekroeger becomes the first Cardinal player to garner Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honors. The rookie leads the Cardinal with a .351 batting average, 73 hits and 22 multi-hit games. He ranks second on the squad with 39 RBI. A native of Woodside, Calif., Diekroeger produced a 23-game hitting streak, the fourth-longest hit streak in school history since 1988. During that stretch, he batted .434 and drove in 20 runs. Diekroeger is on pace to become the first Cardinal freshman since Edmund Muth (.388) in 1997 to lead the club in hitting as freshman. In addition, Diekroeger would become only the sixth freshman in program history to lead the team in hitting, joining A.J. Hinch (1993), Jeffrey Hammonds (1990), Tim Griffin (1988) and Paul Carey (1987). 

    Esmay guided the Sun Devils to the Pac-10 title in his first season at the helm of the ASU program. The former Sun Devil infielder joins Jim Brock and Pat Murphy, who won the last three Pac-10 Coach of the Years, as the only ASU managers to garner this award. ASU was picked to win the Pac-10 championship in the coaches’ preseason poll and has been ranked in the top-15 nationally throughout the year, including being ranked No. 1 seven times throughout the season. Esmay set a new ASU standard for wins to start a season with 24, besting Brock who held the previous record at 12-0. The 24-straight wins was the second-longest streak in school history. The Sun Devils will be making their 11th-straight NCAA postseason appearance and have earned the top national seed for the tournament, the first time in school history. 


    NAME Pos. Year
    Tyler Anderson, ORE LHP So.
    Chad Arnold, WSU RHP Jr.
    Jett Bandy, ARIZ C So.
    Trevor Bauer*, UCLA RHP So.
    Seth Blair, ASU RHP Jr.
    Kole Calhoun, ASU OF Sr.
    Mark Canha*, CAL 1B Jr.
    Gerrit Cole*, UCLA RHP So.
    Adam Conley, WSU LHP So.
    Kenny Diekroeger, STAN 3B Fr. 
    Kurt Heyer, ARIZ RHP Fr.
    Justin Jones, CAL LHP Fr.
    Dan Klein, UCLA RHP So.
    Chadd Krist, CAL C So.
    Mitchell Lambson*, ASU LHP So.
    Zack MacPhee, ASU 2B So. 
    Drew Maggi, ASU SS So. 
    Ricky Oropesa, USC 1B So.
    Tyler Rahmatulla, UCLA 2B So. 
    Rob Rasmussen, UCLA LHP Jr.
    Tony Renda, CAL DH Fr.
    Stefen Romero, OSU 3B Jr.
    Adalberto Santos, OSU OF Sr. 
    Steve Selsky, ARIZ OF So.
    Jordan Swagerty, ASU RHP So. 
    Riccio Torrez, ASU 1B So. 
  • Honorable Mention: J.J. Altobelli, 3B, ORE; Beau Amaral, OF, UCLA; Chase Anselment, DH, WASH; Bryce Bandilla, LHP, ARIZ; Austin Barnes, C, ASU; Cody Bartlett, 2B, WSU; David Bentrott, SS, WASH; Jake Borup, RHP, ASU; Matt Boyd, LHP, OSU; David Cherry, 2B, WASH; Jacob Clem, RHP, WASH; Joe DePinto, Utl., USC; Blair Dunlap, DH, UCLA; Dean Espy, 1B, UCLA; Matt Fanelli, DH, WSU; Matt Foat, OF, USC; Rob Folsom, OF, OSU; Tyler Gaffney, OF, STAN; Niko Gallego, SS, UCLA; Brian Guinn, 2B, CAL; Erik Johnson, RHP, CAL; Derek Jones, OF, WSU; Jonathan Kaskow, 1B, STAN; Cody Keefer, OF, UCLA; Merrill Kelly, RHP, ASU; Cade Kreuter, DH, USC; Brett Krill, OF, UCLA;  Garry Kuykendall, OF, WSU; Jacob Lamb, 2B, WASH; Adam Landecker, INF, USC; Deven Marrero, SS, ASU; Alex Mejia, SS, ARIZ: Seth Mejias-Brean, 3B, ARIZ;  Scott McGough, RHP, ORE; Chris Mezger, RHP, USC; Ben Mount, RHP, USC; Danny Oh, OF, CAL; Mike O’Neill, OF, USC; Steven Packard, OF, ORE; Greg Peavey, RHP, OSU; Stephen Piscotty, OF, STAN; Danny Pulfer, 2B, ORE; Pierce Rankin, OF, WASH; Robert Refsnyder, OF, ARIZ; Cody Regis, 3B, UCLA; Joey Rickard, OF, ARIZ;  Kevin Rhoderick, RHP, OSU; Brady Rodgers, RHP, ASU; Eddie Rodriguez, C, ORE; Kevin Roundtree, C, USC; Johnny Ruettiger, OF, ASU; Marcus Semien, SS, CAL; KC Serna, SS, ORE; Paris Shewey, LHP, WSU; Kyle Simon, RHP, ARIZ; Andrew Susac, C, OSU; Zack Thorton, RHP, ORE; Raoul Torrez, 3B, ASU; Andrew Triggs, RHP, USC; Rafael Valenzuela, 1B, ARIZ; Shea Vucinich, SS, WSU; Colin Walsh, 2B, STAN; Michael Weber, 2B, WSU; Zach Wilson, DH, ASU


    Now on Pac-12 Network
    6:00 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder