Diekroeger Named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year

June 3, 2010

Complete Team in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- Stanford's Kenny Diekroeger was named the Pac-10 Conference's Freshman of the Year to highlight the Cardinal on the all-conference team. The Woodside, Calif third baseman was also named to the first team.

This is the first conference freshmen of the year honor for the Cardinal, though its had five national Freshman of Year honorees, pitchers Jack McDowell (1985), Kyle Peterson (1995) and Mark Romanczuk (2003) and outfielders Frank Carey (1987) and Jeffrey Hammonds (1990).

Four players joined Diekroeger as honorable mention selections:  2B Colin Walsh, an honorable mention selection for the second straight year; OF/1B Stephen Piscotty and OF Tyler Gaffney, three of four freshmen starters named all-conference; and 1B Jonathan Kaskow.

Diekroeger carries is team-best .351 average into the post-season, where the Cardinal, as the No. 2 seed at Stanford, take on third-seeded New Mexico on Friday in an double elimination four-team NCAA Regional at Cal State Fullerton. All games of the regional, at 4:04 and 8:04 p.m will be telecast on ESPNU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network