Tim Esmay Named Pac-10 Coach of the Yearþ

June 3, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University head coach Tim Esmay has been named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, the conference announced today. The Coach of the Year is selected by a vote of all the Pac-10 head coaches.

Esmay, in his first year as ASU head coach, guided the Sun Devils to a 47-8 record overall and a 20-7 mark in conference play as ASU captured the outright Pac-10 championship. The Sun Devils opened the season with a school-record 24 straight wins, surpassing the 21-0 start by the 1961 team. The 24 straight wins also gave Esmay the most consecutive wins to start an ASU coaching career. The previous best was Jim Brock's 12-0 start in 1972.

ASU has had the Pac-10 Coach of the Year 10 times, and this marks the fourth straight season that the Sun Devils head coach has earned the honor. Brock won five times and Pat Murphy won four.

Esmay and the Sun Devils earned the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, and they will open Regional play on Friday hosting UW-Milwaukee at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network