Zack MacPhee Named Pac-10 Player of the Year

June 3, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University sophomore second baseman Zack MacPhee has been named the Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, it was announced today. It is the fourth straight season that an ASU player has been named the conference's top player, after Brett Wallace won in both 2007 and 2008 and Jason Kipnis received the honor in 2009. This marks the first time in Pac-10 history the Player of the Year has come from one school four straight seasons.

MacPhee (Phoenix, Ariz.) is hitting .381 on the season, and he leads the team with a .490 on base percentage and a .686 slugging percentage. He set a new school record with 14 triples this season, breaking the previous mark of 13 set by Alan Bannister in 1971. MacPhee also leads the team with 59 RBI and 62 runs scored, and he has eight home runs, seven doubles, and 18 stolen bases on the season.

He was also recently named one of 30 semifinalists for the 2010 Golden Spikes Award, which is given to the top player in college baseball.

MacPhee is the 15th Sun Devil to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year, joining former ASU greats such as Kipnis, Wallace, Casey Myers (2000 and 2001), Willie Bloomquist (1999), Paul LoDuca (1993), Oddibe McDowell (1984) and Alvin Davis (1982).

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    Thu 6/20 | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder