Pac-10 Sweeps Track and Field USTFCCCA West Region Awards

June 4, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced on Friday winners of the USTFCCCA Region Athletes and Coaches of the Year honors for the 2010 Outdoor Track & Field season in Division I and OREGON received six honors, while ARIZONA and ARIZONA STATE each earned one award. The awards are voted on by the nation’s coaches. 

On the men’s side, OREGON senior Andrew Wheating (mid-distance) earned Men’s Track Athlete of the Year, fellow Duck senior Ashton Eaton (combined events) was tabbed Men’s Field Athlete of the Year, head coach Vin Lananna from Oregon was named the Coach of the Year and ARIZONA STATE’s David Dumble was honored as Assistant Coach of the Year.

On the women’s side, Oregon senior Keshia Baker (sprints) was selected the Women’s Track Athlete of the Year, while teammate senior Brianne Theisen (combined events) nabbed Women’s Field Athlete of the Year, ARIZONA’s Fred Harvey earned Coach of the Year and Oregon’s Robert Johnson was named Assistant Coach of the Year. 

Wheating, Eaton and Lananna led the Ducks to their fourth-straight and 11th overall Pac-10 Championship this year in Berkeley, Calif., in May. Oregon held off a charge from the USC men to win the meet with 168.5 points. Eaton became the fifth male track and field athlete in Pac-10 history to win three events at the Conference Championship. The Bend, Ore., native won the 110-meter hurdles, pole vault and discus. For his efforts, Eaton was named Pac-10 Championship Male of the Meet.

Baker, Theisen and Johnson made history at this year’s Pac-10 Championships, as the Ducks posted 215 points, the most ever at the Championships. Baker paced the Ducks by winning her third-consecutive Pac-10 title in the 400-meter with a time of 50.76, a personal and school record. Harvey led the Wildcats to a second place finish with 109 points, the highest Pac-10 Championships finish since 1992. 

The NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships concludes June 9-12, in Eugene, Ore. Live television coverage can be found on CBS College Sports, Friday June 11, starting at 5 p.m. PT. The final day of competition will airs live on CBS, Saturday, June 12, beginning at 11 a.m. PT. Non-televised coverage will be streamed at no cost on beginning Wednesday, June 9.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network