Men's Four Takes Fifth, Frosh Sixth In IRA Grand Finals

June 5, 2010

  • IRA National Championships Regatta Results

    CAMDEN, N.J. - Stanford men's rowing had the Varsity Four take fifth place and the Frosh Eight take sixth in their respective Grand Finals Saturday at the IRA National Championships Regatta. The I Eight, meanwhile, finished second in the third final of its class for an overall fourteenth-place finish.

    The Four, racing in lane two in its Grand Final, crossed the line fifth with a time of 6:25.708, a total of 8.313 seconds behind title-winning Washington's time of 6:17.395.

    The varsity four adopted the mantra of 'family,'' said Stanford Director of Rowing and men's head coach Craig Amerkhanian. 'They to each other and raced great throughout the championships.'

    The Frosh Eight were next up for Stanford in its Grand Final, looking to make the medal podium. But the Cardinal would be denied a top-three medal, as it finished sixth with a time of 5:51.216. Pac-10 rival Washington would capture its second title as its frosh finished first in a time of 5:35.796.

    'The Frosh raced hard today,' said Amerkhanian. 'It was a long weekend of racing and they just couldn't stay with the pace set by UW. This class has shown the willingness to train and the desire to race. I'm excited to see the impact they will have on the varsity squad.'

    The Cardinal I Eight, meanwhile, rowed in the third final in its class, finishing second to Navy and taking 14th overall.

    'Our varsity eight raced today for our seniors, Alec Levy, Amelia Carr and Aaron Frankl,' Amerkhanian added. 'Their contributions to Stanford rowing has been significant. During their years at Stanford we have defeated Cal and Washington. We are very proud of these team leaders.'

    All Stanford shells honored coach John Wooden by having his name on each shell.

    'Coach Wooden has been a part me since I was 10 years old,' Amerkhanian noted. 'His examples and teachings have always been a part of Stanford Rowing.'

    Stanford Lineups

    Men's Varsity Eight
    Coxswain - Amelia Carr
    Stroke - Sebastian Peterlin
    7 - Dane McFadden
    6 - Alex Syverson
    5 - Aaron Frankl
    4 - Dean Walker
    3 - Bodie Manly
    2 - Alec Levy
    1 - Dixon Bross

    Men's Varsity Four
    Coxswain - Alex Topacio
    Stroke - David Evans
    3 - Chip Schroeder
    2 - Peter Leemputte
    1 - Edwin Brower

    Men's Frosh Eight
    Coxswain - Shane Hegde
    Stroke - Alec Macrae
    7 - Shahriyar Pruisken
    6 - Dave Dolben
    5 - Ryan Sudeck
    4 - Andrew Boothe
    3 - Oivind Lorentzen
    2 - Jason Lupatkin
    1 - William Faulkner

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    4:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder