Arizona and UCLA Set to Square Off in an All-Pac-10 Women's College World Series Finals

June 7, 2010



Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader | NCAA Live Bracket | Arizona Preview | UCLA Preview

Pac-10 in the WCWS
Arizona and UCLA are set to square off in the NCAA Women's College World Series finals for the sixth time in history. Arizona holds a 8-4 advantage all-time in the WCWS against UCLA. UCLA defeated Arizona in 1992 and 1995 and the Wildcats came out on top in 1991, 1993, 1997 and 2001. 

All eight Pac-10 teams, at one time or another, have competed in the NCAA Women's College World Series, with UCLA leading the way with 24 appearances.  Arizona is making its 22nd overall and sixth-consecutive appearance. UCLA has won a NCAA-record 10 titles and Arizona has won eight. 



Pac-10 in the NCAA Championships by the #'s
27 Total number of NCAA National Champions since the organization recognized women's athletics in 1982.
21 NCAA Championships won by Pac-10 teams. UCLA (10), Arizona(8), Arizona State (1), California (1), Washington(1).
11 WCWS championship games between two Pac-10 teams. (including 2010)
15 Pac-10 NCAA Runners-Up. UCLA (7), Arizona (4), Washington (2), California (2).
5 The most Pac-10 teams that have made the NCAA Women's College World Series in one year (1999).
2 The number of times a Pac-10 team has not made it to the Women's College World Series Championship Series (1983, 1986).



The Wildcats are in their 13th NCAA WCWS finals, their first since 2007. They have won eight of the finals that they have participated in.

In 1992, the Wildcats were beat in the finals by UCLA, 1-0, and in 1995, the Bruins also won the title with a 4-2 victory. Arizona came back and took the WCWS title, 10-2 (5 innings), in 1997 over UCLA. 



The Bruins are undefeated, 8-0 in the 2010 postseason and 3-0 in the WCWS, advancing to their 19th WCWS championship game/series. 

The Bruins have been undefeated heading into the WCWS Championship game/series 11 times, winning the title on seven of those occasions (1982, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1999, 2003 and 2004). UCLA's last appearance in the final was in the initial WCWS Championship Series in 2005, losing to Michigan in three games. 


Pac-10 Tops the Polls
The Pac-10 leads the way in the final regular season USA Today/NFCA and Softball polls with six teams ranked in the top-25, the most of any conference:  

Pac-10: 7 (Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA, Washington)
Big 12: 5 (Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Missouri, Texas, Texas A&M) 
SEC: 5 (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, LSU)
Big Ten: 2 (Michigan, Ohio State)
ACC: 2 (Florida State, Georgia Tech)



Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network