California Crew Garners Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

June 7, 2010

BERKELEY - California men's and women's crew placed a combined 17 members on the Pac-10 all-academic team, as announced on Monday by the conference. Five Golden Bear men's rowers made the all-academic squad, while 12 from the women's crew made the team. Senior Will Dean was named to the first team for the men, and Taylor Christensen, Laurel Kuhn, Bridget Moran, Taryn O'Connell and Shay Seager were first-teamers for the women.

To be eligible for selection to an academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-point average and be either a starter or substitute of significant contribution.

Making the second team for the men were Sean Engel, Samuel Walker and Nikola Zunic. Chris Yeager was an honorable-mention selection.

Earning all-academic second team honors for the women were Kirsten Campbell, Jill Costello, Elise Etem, Iva Obradovic and Avalon Radys. Nora Franzen and Kristina Lofman were honorable-mention picks.

The Cal men varsity 8+ won the IRA national championship last Saturday, edging top-ranked Washington in the grand final. The Bears' women's crew placed second at the NCAA Championships last month.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network