Four Golfers Earn Pac-10 All-Academic Honors

June 7, 2010

TUCSON, Ariz. - Four University of Arizona golfers were named to the Pacific-10 Conference's all-Academic team, commissioner Larry Scott announced recently.

Philip Bagdade, John Kostis and Kenji Hernandez were honored on the men's side, while Nikki Koller was honored on the women's. Bagdade, Kostis and Koller were first-team selections, while Hernandez was received second-team kudos.

Bagdade, a sophomore from Eugene, Ore., ranked fourth on the team with a 73.52 scoring average and collected three top-20 finishes. He competed in 13 events in 2009-10 and 13 of his 33 rounds played were at par or better with a low of 66. He finished in 15th place at the 2010 Pac-10 Championships with a five-under 279 total.

Koller, a sophomore from Lewisburg, Ky., posted a 74.56 scoring average in nine appearances (27 rounds) this season. Her low round was a 68 with six rounds at par or better. Koller's best finish was a tie for third place at the NCAA West Regional, where she posted a two-over 215, which was one of three top-20 finishes for her in 2009-10.

Kostis, a junior from Paradise Valley, Ariz., earned first-team accolades for the second consecutive season. He posted a 75.06 scoring average in seven appearances (18 rounds) this season. Kostis has one top-10 finish to his credit and five of his rounds played were at par or better. Kostis' best finish was a tie for seventh place at the Wolf Pack Classic in October.

Hernandez, a sophomore from Atizapan, Mexico, posted a 75.41 scoring average in six appearances (17 rounds) this season. His low round was a 71 in his opening round of the year at the William H. Tucker Intercollegiate. Hernandez's best finish was a tie for 41st place in that same event.

Alejandra Llaneza and Margarita Ramos were honorable mention selections.

To be eligible for selection to the Pac-10 all-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade point average and be either a starter or significant contributor.

The Arizona men's golf team finished the 2009-10 campaign with an appearance at the NCAA Southwest Regional. In 13 varsity appearances, the Wildcats collected four top-five finishes, including a win at the Braveheart Classic.

The UA women capped the season with a top-five finish at the 2010 NCAA Women's Golf Championships. The Wildcats posted three team wins during the 2009-10 season, including back-to-back victories at the Pac-10 and NCAA West Regional events.

Men's Golf

First Team Yr. GPA Major
Philip Bagdade, ARIZ So. 3.45 Pre-Business
Knut Borsheim, ASU Sr. 3.89 Finance
Jack Dukeminier, ORE Jr. 4.04 Economics
Nicholas Grigsby, WSU Sr. 3.47 Management & Operations
John Kostis, ARIZ So. 3.48 Journalism
Diego Velasquez, OSU Sr. 3.22 New Media Communications


Second Team Yr. GPA Major
Joseph Bramlett, STAN Sr. 3.16 Communication
Stephen Hale, CAL Jr. 3.43 Interdisciplinary Studies
Kenji Hernandez, ARIZ So. 3.44 Industrial Engineering
Jesper Kennegard, ASU Jr. 3.32 Geography
Jonnie Motomochi, OSU So. 3.44 New Media Communications
Steve Ziegler, STAN Jr. 3.55 Science, Technology & Society

Men's Golf Honorable Mention
Tristan Bierenbroodspot, Sr., ASU; James Byrne, Jr., ASU; Bo DeHuff, RS Jr., USC; Connor Driscoll, Jr., UCLA; Sean Maekawa, Jr., ORE; Trent Sanders, So., WSU; Nick Taylor, Sr., WASH.

Women's Golf

First Team Yr. GPA Major
Allison Travis, WSU So. 3.97 Accounting
Carlota Ciganda, ASU Sr. 3.92 Tourism Development/Sociology
Rebecca Durham, STAN Jr. 3.85 Psychology
Juliana Murcia, ASU Sr. 3.80 Sculpture
Nikki Koller, ARIZ So. 3.66 Psychology
Giulia Molinaro, ASU Sr. 3.73 Tourism Development


Second Team Yr. GPA Major
Sydney Burlison, STAN So. 3.59 Communication
Whitney French, OSU So. 3.52 Pre-Business
Monika Graf, ORE Jr. 3.64 IMathematics/Business Administration
Pia Halbig, CAL Jr. 3.61 Media Studies
Kate Hildahl, ORE Sr. 3.39 Accounting
Angela King, STAN Sr. 3.39 Economics

Women's Golf Honorable Mention: Kristen Allard, So., WSU; Anya Alvarez, Jr., WASH; Lauren Archer, Sr., OSU; Lila Barton, So., STAN; Stefanie Endstrasser, Sr., USC; Stephanie Kono, So., UCLA; Alejandra Llaneza, Jr., ARIZ; Roseanne Niven, Sr., CAL; Elyse Okada, So., OSU; Erica Omlid, Jr., ORE; Margarita Ramos, So., ARIZ; Jennifer Song, So., USC; Brittany Stewart, Sr., OSU; Jaclyn Sweeney, Jr., ASU; Glory Yang, Jr., UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder