Pac-10 Rivals Collide as #5 UCLA Faces #10 Arizona in WCWS Championship Series

June 7, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. - Winners of a combined 18 NCAA Championships, the UCLA Bruins and the Arizona Wildcats will square off in the finals for the sixth time in the history of the Women's College World Series. The best 2-of-3 series begins on Monday at 5 p.m. PT/7 p.m. CT and will be televised on ESPN2 HD and, with Gametracker on

The Bruins (48-11) are a perfect 8-0 in the postseason and 3-0 in the WCWS, beating Florida on Thursday (16-3 in six innings), Hawai'i on Friday (5-2) and Georgia on Sunday (5-2) to advance to their 19th WCWS Championship game/series. UCLA has won 10 NCAA titles in 1982, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1999, 2003 and 2004.

The Bruins have been undefeated heading into the WCWS Championship game/series 11 times, winning the title on seven occasions in 1982, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1999 and 2004. UCLA's last appearance in the final was in the initial WCWS Championship Series in 2005, losing to Michigan in three games.

The Wildcats (52-12) came through the loser's bracket to advance to the WCWS Championship Series. The eight-time NCAA Champions lost to Tennessee on Thursday 9-0 in five innings, but were able to win twice on Saturday and two more times on Sunday to move on to the finals. Arizona beat Washington (4-3) and Hawaii (5-1) on Saturday and Tennessee twice on Sunday by scores of 8-0 in five innings and 5-2.

The Bruins and the Wildcats have faced each other in the Championship Game five times. UCLA defeated Arizona in 1992, losing to the Wildcats in 1991, 1993, 1997 and 2001. Arizona holds an 8-4 advantage all-time in the WCWS against UCLA.

The Bruins won the regular-season series against the Wildcats in Tucson, with the teams meeting in the final weekend of Pac-10 play. UCLA won 6-5 in eight innings on May 13 thanks to a go-ahead homer by senior Julie Burney in the first extra frame. Arizona bounced back with a 5-3, comeback win on May 14 on a two-run, walk-off homer by Kristen Arriola, but the Bruins won the series and season finale by a score of 6-4 on May 15. The Bruins lead the all-time series 68-51 and have won seven of the last 10 against the Wildcats.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TODAY | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder