This Week in Pac-10 Baseball

June 8, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


    Los Angeles Super Regional (Los Angeles, Calif.)
    Friday, June 11
    Cal State Fullerton at No. 6 UCLA, 7:30 p.m. (ESPNHD)

    Saturday, June 12
    Cal State Fullerton at No. 6 UCLA, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

    Sunday, June 13 (if necessary)
    Cal State Fullerton at No. 6 UCLA, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

    Tempe Super Regional (Tempe, Ariz.)
    Saturday, June 12
    Arkansas at No. 1 ARIZONA STATE, 6 p.m. (ESPNU)

    Sunday, June 13
    Arkansas at No. 1 ARIZONA STATE, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

    Monday, June 14 (if necessary)
    Arkansas at No. 1 ARIZONA STATE, 4 p.m. (ESPN2)

    Game local to site and subject to change.

    Super Regional Format:

    • Games will be a best-of-three series

    The determination of the NCAA College World Series order of first-round games both Saturday, June 19, and Sunday, June 20, will be announced Monday, June 14. The ESPN family of networks and will release the CWS dates and times as soon as they become available.

    The 64th College World Series begins Saturday, June 19, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb. 


    ARIZONA STATE (50-8, 20-7): The Sun Devils are making their 11th-straight trip to the NCAA Tournament and fourth-consecutive trip to the NCAA Super Regionals... Skipper Tim Esmay, the Pac-10 Coach of the Year, led ASU to the Pac-10 Championship in his first season as manager... SO 2B Zach MacPhee, a 2010 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, earned Pac-10 Player of the Year honors after leading the league in three offensive categories, including on-base percentage (.490), runs scored (62) and triples (14). He ranked second in slugging percentage (.686), third in batting average (.381), RBI (59) and total bases (133), and seventh in hits (74)... With Brett Wallace earning Conference Player of the Year in 2007 and 2008, and Jason Kipnis winning last season, it marked the first time in Pac-10 history that an institution has produced four-straight winners... ASU’s 24-game winning streak to start the season was a program record and was the second-longest streak in school history... Esmay set a new ASU standard for wins to start a career with 24, besting Jim Brock who held the previous record at 12-0.

    UCLA (46-13, 18-9): Making their first NCAA Super Regional appearance since 2007, the Bruins host its first Super Regional in program history this weekend... Paced by SO RHP Trevor Bauer, a 2010 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, the Bruins pitching staff is tops in the Conference in ERA (2.94), strikeouts (611), a school and Pac-10 record, and opponent batting average (.220)... Bauer leads the Conference with 135 strikeouts, ranks second with 109.1 innings pitched and fourth with a 2.72 ERA... Bauer, SO RHP Gerrit Cole and JR LHP Rob Rasmussen each boasts 10 or more victories, the first time three Bruins have accomplished that feat in a single season... With 46 wins, the Bruins broke the program record for wins in a season which had been established in 1997 -- the last time UCLA advanced to the NCAA College World Series... The  club’s 27 home victories this season are the most since 1982 when that Bruins squad went 28-10... UCLA opened the 2010 campaign with a school record 22-0 start.


  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    9:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder