Basson, Schluntz Earn Pac-10 Medals

June 9, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Arizona’s Jean Basson and Justine Schluntz from the swimming and diving program were among recipients of the 2009-10 Pacific-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal winners announced today.


A Conference Medal is awarded annually to each member institution’s outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership.


Basson, an individual national champion and 12-time All-American, holds two UA school records and earned All-America status all four years in the 200 free, 500 free and 800 free relay.  An Olympic finalist on the international scene for his native South Africa, Basson plans to continue to train in Tucson under head coach Frank Busch in preparation for the 2012 Olympic Games in London.


Schluntz, a Rhodes scholar and 16-time All-American, has received multiple praises for her efforts both in and out of the pool.  In her career, the Albuquerque, N.M. native swam on six national championship-winning relays and helped the Wildcats to top-four finishes nationally in each of her four years.  Studying at Oxford this fall, Schluntz graduated summa cum laude with a mechanical engineering degree in 2009 and continued her studies through graduate work in 2010 while completing her athletic eligibility.


The Tom Hansen Conference Medal winners will be honored at the State Farm Pride of the Pac-10 Breakfast held in Los Angeles in conjunction with the Pac-10 Men’s and Women’s Basketball Tournaments next March. 


The UA swimming and diving program continues to earn recognition through the Conference Medal awards as the team has won 10 of the last 12 medals awarded over the past six years.


2009-10 Pacific-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners

School                         Men                                               Women

Arizona                         Jean Basson (Swimming)                 Justine Schluntz (Swimming)

Arizona State                Ryan Whiting (Track & Field)            Liz Harkin (Soccer)

California                       Jerome Randle (Basketball)              Hana Cutura (Volleyball)

Oregon                          Ashton Eaton (Track & Field)            Keshia Baker (Track & Field)

Oregon State                 Diego Velasquez (Golf)                     Mandi Rodriquez (Gymnastics)

Stanford                        Toby Gerhart (Football)                     Carly Janiga (Gymnastics)

UCLA                            Musatfa Abdul-Hamid (MBKB)           Kaitlin Sather (Volleyball)

USC                             Jeff Byers (Football)                         Kelly Lucas (Water Polo)

Washington                   Nick Taylor (Golf)                             Danielle Lawrie (Softball)

Washington State          Matt Lamb (Track & Field)                Kiersten Dallstream (Soccer)



Past Arizona Medalists


Pacific-10 Conference Medal Winners - University of Arizona

2010     Jean Basson, Swimming

            Justine Schluntz, Swimming

2009     Craig Sheedy, Diving

            Lara Jackson, Swimming

2008     Albert Subirats, Swimming

            Lacey Nymeyer, Swimming

2007     Adam Ritter, Swimming

            Whitney Myers, Swimming

2006     Simon Burnett, Swimming

            Alicia Hollowell, Softball

2005     Channing Frye, Basketball

            Emily Mason, Swimming

2004     Chris Nallen, Golf

            Wendy Allen, Softball

2003     Jason Johnson, Football

            Lovieanne Jung, Softball

2002     Brandon Nash, Football

            Jennie Finch, Softball

2001     Patrick Nduwimana, Cross Country/Track &Field

            Lauren Bauer, Softball

2000     Ryk Neethling, Swimming

            Heidi Hornbeek, Gymnastics

1999     Abdi Abdirahman, Cross Country/Track &Field

            Amy Skieresz, Cross Country/Track &Field

1998     Joe Salave'a, Football

            Nancy Evans, Softball

1997     Wayne Wyatt, Football

            Leah O'Brien, Softball

1996     Jan Anderson, Tennis

            Jenny Dalton, Softball

1995     Martin Keino, Cross Country/Track

            Amy Chellevold, Softball

1994     Michael McQuitty, Swimming

            Tanya Hughes, Track & Field

1993     Jason Thompson, Baseball

            Stacy Fowlkes, Gymnastics

1992     John Fina, Football

            Lori Detweiler, Diving

1991     Trev Anderson, Golf

            Sharon Manship, Track & Field

1990     Derek Huff, Track & Field

            Stacy Engel, Softball

1988     Chuck Cecil, Football

            Yolanda Turner, Basketball

1987     Chip Hale, Baseball

1986     Gordon Bunch, Football

1985     George DiCarlo, Swimming

1984     Ivan Lesnik, Football

1983     Jeff Hess, Cross Country/Track & Field

1982     Jim Bagnall, Baseball

1981     Ted Staren, Tennis

1980     Joe Nehls, Football

1979     Jeff Whitton, Football


Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TODAY | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder